We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greater attention to detail required”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greater attention to detail required”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

What could be a fantastic hotel, due to its location and aesthetic appeal, fails to deliver because of a lack of attention to detail. We just recently spent a Saturday night and whilst we had an enjoyable time, too many little issues arose which just took the edge off the experience, especially when considering the cost. On the positive side, the bar was lovely, set in the basement and boating an array of very comfy sofas, it was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy a drink - although the drinks were hotel prices and therefore unnecessarily expensive. The staff were friendly and helpful.
My main issue concerned our room, William Opitz, which was at the front of the hotel. The 'double glazing' is insufficient and so noise levels were unpleasant all night. The road is busy with traffic and revellers and we were aware of both even through the small hours. When we closed the inner screens,it made little difference to the noise but boosted the temperature to uncomfortable levels. Additionally, one window only had a Venetian blind which left a huge gap through which poured either daylight and streetlight, both of which added to the sense of discomfort. It felt like sleeping in a dentist's chair. The bed was huge and comfortable, but couldn't compensate for the aforementioned issues. I would recommend you opt for a room at the back of the hotel. The one thing that a guest really expects and wants is a fantastic night's sleep and that just didn't happen which was a huge disappointment considering we'd left our four kids at home.
We had dinner and breakfast in the bistro and in the main they were both a decent standard. The staff were friendly although have a habit of not writing things down and got orders wrong on both meals. They rectified them with a minimum of fuss but again, it is an issue that is easily resolved. The food was good as was the choice of wine, presumably as the name of the hotel implies, although there is a shortage of options by the glass and the wine is expensive. The puddings were awful and I strongly suspected that they were just bought in rather than made fresh. My rhubarb strudel was inedible, stale, free of flavour and altogether wholly inadequate. It was sent back along with the vanilla cheesecake, the base of which was soggy and the flavour of which was lacklustre. They were taken off the bill but seeing I had bought a three course meal as part of the package, I had already paid for them. The standard of pudding was at odds with the starters and main courses, which were very nice.
I think HdV brands itself as a premium experience which on this occasion it failed to deliver. I noticed on my bill an optional service charge which was added for reasons beyond my grasp. It was removed when i questioned it, however, it oughtn't to have been on there in the first place. So, in summary, we both felt a little short changed because we didn't feel that the hotel lived up to its billing nor delivered the premium service which I felt we had bought.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    279
    161
    81
    32
See reviews for
99
507
33
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room was really really nice. I had a superior room for 2 nights. It was a large room with a bath and walk-in shower. The sleep quality was good, I have no complaints about the room. The staff was very friendly. The location of the hotel is also nice, quite close to the center.

I was not impressed with the breakfast. It is expensive if not already included with the room and you basically get the same cooked English breakfast that you would get in a local B&B. Seeing that the second day I got some eggs with salmon which at least was a more special breakfast even tough not a very large one.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hexalite2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were attending a dinner and needed a central location which offered a car-parking service. We decided to get a cab in the evening as the weather was poor. The hotel needed a reminder to order the cab which nearly made us late. However, otherwise the hotel was satisfactory, with a comfortable (huge) bed and a room with all facilities including a safe. We chose to get breakfast in the city centre as it was just a short walk and much cheaper! we would happily stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martincj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having returned from a two night stay at the Hotel du Vin Cambridge I have to say how delighted we were with the hotel.
The room was fantastic, feature 'bath in room' so you can relax and watch TV with a glass of chardonnay and the full on drench shower was great!
The Nespresso machine was a nice touch along with the well stocked mini bar, air conditioning, robes, slippers and great toiletries.
Compliments to the housekeeping for a spotlessly clean room and to Linzi for showing us to our room and pointing out all the features, thank you!
We didn't eat in the restaurant as we wanted to experience our nights' out in Cambridge, however the bar was fantastic, very quirky but well designed, intimate with an great atmosphere with reasonably priced drinks, well done!
We will definitely be using a hotel du vin again..!

Thank you all for a superb stay
Derrick Holland

PS
I love room names rather than numbers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fyldecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at this charming Hotel for our wedding Anniversary weekend. We had a suite in one of the oldest parts of the building. The bathroom was astonishing and really very well appointed. The bed was huge and oh so comfortable. We dined in the restaurant both evenings as the food was so good, and the service was friendly and good. The bar was a delight one of the best stocked that I have seen. It is not a cheap venue, but for a special occasion well worth the extra pennies.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a table for the Restaurant as it gets very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A LOVELY hotel in a superb location in Cambridge, this Hotel du Vin has great charm, supreme comfort and some really luxurious details. Sleep quality was superb, food great for both breakfast and dinner and service out of this world. For best value go for the bed, breakfast and dinner package. Not cheap but well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraUdinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a really great stay here.

Service was friendly and efficient.

Breakfast and dinner in the bistro were spot on. Really lovely bistro food with very frienfly staff and a very helpful Spanish lady sommelier. As we had booked bed, breakfast and dinner it also worked out very good value. Chicken liver parfait with a glass of Felton road Riesling was superb!

The bar is very atmospheric and cosy with lovely little nooks, perfect for a cold evening before dinner.

We booked a superior room but were happy to find we were upgraded to the cinema suite. As it was a free upgrade we loved it but calling it either a cinema or a suite was a little generous. The cinema is actually a funny little cellar room adjoining the main room with a big telly, speakers and 2 arm chairs crammed in. If I'd paid for this I would have been disappointed. Similarly the lovely roll top bath was oddly placed by the bedroom door. I think they have basically tried too hard to make something from a slightly awkward basement space.

Location is perfect. Just along from the Fitzwilliam museum and then a short trot to the rest of picturesque Cambridge.

Overall would happily recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoomcat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
1,780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
428 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Property: Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing