We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced & Pretentious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced & Pretentious”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Ate in Bistro. Despite booking a table at a specific time and arriving at the allotted time, ushered into dingy subterranean pastiche of a bar, clearly a ploy to sell some overpriced drinks. Eventually shown to our table, staff very subservient in a Uriah Heap sort of way.
Starters were average in quality but hideously over priced, as were the main courses. Bought wine by the glass (only one of us is a wine drinker), when the bill arrived I thought I had bought a case.
Skipped pudding and coffee and beat a hasty retreat, now typing this with a decidedly queasy stomach.
There a many better places to eat in Cambridge. Avoid Hotel Du Vin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    279
    156
    79
    30
See reviews for
94
498
33
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Don't get me wrong - the room Villa Maria was nicely decorated and you give up some bedroom space in order to have the great bathroom with a roll top bath and walk in shower and fireplace. However, lighting in both was not good for makeup, despite secondary double glazing there was still road noise and there is no point having blackout fabric for curtains if the curtain pole is not flush and light from the street light streams in around the edges. To top that off the smoke alarms flashes every 10 seconds above the bed!!

The room was great when I got there after a day shopping and had a lovely bubble bath but just not great for actual sleep!!

The receptionist did not even bother to look up from her screen when we arrived and was quite dismissive. We live fairly locally and had suffered not great service in the restaurant on previous occasions so we did not even bother to eat there. Even the high room rate did not include breakfast but Browns is 2 doors along and opens at 9.30 and has very reasonably priced breakfasts. Indeed we both ate for a third of what one of us would have to pay.

All in all a bit of a let down - nice room and we had a good time but price and service needs rethinking.

Room Tip: If like me you need darkness don't go for a front room as the street lighting is not blocked out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAllensintheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having stayed at a number of hotel du vin's in other locations, it was an obvious choice for an overnight stay in cambridge. The staff (with the exception of the bar staff) were rude from the moment we checked in. No one offered to take our bags upstairs (no lift) and only upon the final set of stairs they asked if we wanted them carried...a bit late by then...

The food was good, but again the waiters/waitresses were disinterested at best and looked grumpy at both dinner and breakfast. It was an effort to order something at breakfast and the food was practically plonked down in front of us...forget about asking for coffee!

The rooms at all the hotels are well designed and comfortable. It is such a shame that in this occasion the staff were so rude.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grizzlybear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

There is very little choice when it comes to hotels in Cambridge city centre, so the Hotel du Vin chain is most welcome. However, we booked a saturday night stay including dinner and I was astonished at how expensive it was, which I didn't discover until afterwards because it was a birthday treat. My husband was assured over the phone we would have a big room because of the price we were paying and because we were travelling as a family with two kids. Looking at the fire exit map on the back of the door showed that in fact we had, at best, a standard sized room. To say there wasn't room to swing a 375ml half bottle of wine would be generous. There was one small single fold up bed for the two kids, and we had to climb over it to get to the other side of the double bed. In retrospect, it looks like we were gazumped from a bigger sized room or suite, but it being a gift, I didn't feel it appropriate to complain. The bathroom was down some stairs into a dreary tired dark room that smelled a bit dank. Our friends had a similar problem with their room, into which was wedged a cot. But as I say, in Cambridge, you can't be fussy for your money. The bar area was appealing with lots of little dark snugs, although it was very busy with hen parties the night we were there. The food that evening in the busy restaurant was good, and the breakfast was absolutely superb, with spot-on service and effortless catering for special diets. Hotel du Vin Cambridge gets 3 stars because of its pokey rooms and extortionate prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night stay here. The room was very good(Bisol)quiet, clean and spacious.check in fine and my car was valet parked , with no problem(£18 a day is reasonable in Cambridge).i was slightly dissapointed with my food on the first night . No oysters, and my beef was a bit fatty. This was offered to be replaced without hesitation.second night far more acceptable. Oysters were good and the burger huge and cooked perfectly. The maitre D and wine waiter were top quality. Breakfasts very good too. Freshly cooked, good quality products. Overall , not cheap, but if you want to treat yourself and get rid of the car for a couple of days, this is the perfect place to do it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had never stayed in a HdV before and as we wanted to visit Cambridge on our way home thought this would be a perfect opportunity. We were not disappointed.

We had booked two prestige inter-connecting rooms on their Autumn offer which was incredibly good value for dinner bed and breakfast. The rooms themselves were arranged in a duplex style with one above the other linked by a staircase which you could close off if the rooms were to be used seperately, but worked very well for us and our two girls.

The quality of the rooms was high, lovely comfortable beds and very good fixtures and fittings. The bathrooms were also well appointed although if I had to critisise I would say that the basin area was somewhat cramped. The bath was a huge stand alone rolltop, which looks great but my 5'6" wife found too long for properly relaxing in without slipping down. The shower was on the other hand very very good.

A nice touch was the bottle of wine that could be bought, left sitting on the dressing table, which for a hotel was not bad value and good to drink, which you would hope from a HdV. Overall the rooms were very comfortable, the only downside of ours being that they were overlooking the road outside, which was not as quiet as we would have liked, although it was not such a problem that it kept us awake or woke us up, but if you were a light sleeper it might be worth requesting a room away from the road.

We ate in the Bistro for dinner, whilst our girls had room service in front of the television! Room service was very efficient and the food was very well received, burgers cooked very well and certainly home made. Desserts were also very good, the sticky toffee pudding particulaly coming in for high praise.

The restaurant was very busy for a Sunday night which added to the atmosphere and the service was good. The food was good without being outstanding, which is perhaps what you would expect from a good bistro. My wife's dressed crab starter was very fresh and tasted good, my black pudding and bacon salad was OK, the pudding having been slightly over cooked and dry. Whilst I have had better steaks, I have certainly had far worse and my wife enjoyed her salmon very much.

After dinner we went down to the cellar bar, which was very atmospheric and served great cocktails. It was also busy and would have been a great place to spend some time in but maybe another visit.

Breakfast the following morning was good, with a nice selection of cereals and pastries as well as some ham, chease, fruit and yoghurt. Not as extensive as some buffets I have encountered but adequate and of good quality. The cooked breakfast was again well executed and of good quality, we certainly left feeling we had got our money's worth!

Check out was simple and even the valet parking was quick to return our car. We have no idea where they park but given the problems of finding a space in Cambridge, paying for the valet option was well worth the money. Overall a very enjoyable stay and if we were to visit Cambridge again we would definately go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colossus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yes this is a good hotel, but the cost of the room and there was no breakfast included for us, means we will think twice about returning. We got a double room with a view of a brick wall, for the price I paid I would expect better than this, also a very weird bathroom, i think designed for wheelchairs. The bed was good and fixtures and fittings good quality, staff helpfull too. Good location and very close i to town

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Property: Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing