We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel with potential for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel with potential for improvement”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a very good boutique Hotel in the centre of Cambridge. Regular visitors will know that there is a general shortage of hotels in Cambridge; particularly good ones. However, Hotel Du Vin offers all you need for a great visit in Cambridge. The Hotel is very clean, the rooms are big and well furnished and the the Hotel stuff is super friendly. Free Wifi is included - a very big plus!

I would definitely recommend to use the hotels car parking service upon arrival as this could otherwise be a little complicated as well expensive in Cambridge. Also, the Hotel features a hidden gem of a bar - fantastic selection of drinks and very cozy environment.

The only area of improvement I would have is to introduce turndown service which I would expect in hotel of this class.

Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again, great times, fantastic memories!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    279
    161
    81
    32
See reviews for
99
506
33
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a great hotel in a stunningly beautiful town.
They whisked the car away, checked us in, brought tea and even a lovely little bed for the dog!
Nothing was to much trouble, advise on the local area, places to go and see, directions and just generally very very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: The basement may usually seems a bad choice but in this case it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatildaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed on a saturday night. Charming, friendly staff. FAB room (Wolf Blass) his n hers slipper baths, lovely HUGE comfy bed iPhone doc. espresso machine..... Very atmospheric cellar bar, and great breakfast to end out night away.
Felt like I'd been on a full blown holiday :o)
Hope to come again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Wolf Blass ! Luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalnAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

From the time they took the car away to a special parking area to when they brought it back the next day every person in the Hotel was as helpful as anyone could be, showing you to your room explaining what was where, breakfast was great lots to eat, next time we visit Cambridge this Hotel would be the first place we contact

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 165000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We've stayed here twice on the HduV Sunday night room and meal package. It's a good excuse for a night away in a lovely city.

Superior rooms are good and dinner in the bistro was very enjoyable.

The valet parking is quick, easy and worth paying for.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportsfanHerts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

From when we entered to when we left we had a great time, the menu was good and they had a special menu for the night we went in, which the wife had, but I liked my mussels and oysters and I was going to have oysters for dessert but I had pear crumble the service was excellent and our waitress Gabby was helpful in choosing what we had. The food was well presented and filling, we will go back there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 165000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Myself and my fiance stayed here, we stayed in the willi opitz room, loved the room, although it was a bit noisy outside at night. Very close to the river, bars and restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex_UkNicp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
428 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Property: Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing