We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best south East Asian food in Cambridge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cricketers

The Cricketers
Ranked #63 of 677 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best south East Asian food in Cambridge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We've had take away twice now from Luk Thai at the Cricketers, and both times the food was excellent. We'd also eaten here when it was the First and Last- the food then was just about average, compared to now when it's super. Highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good Thai meal in Cambridge. Very pleased and hope it's here to stay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AandE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    78
    28
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Cambridge Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was fortunate to have a business meeting scheduled here, or else I might not have found this gem of a pub. The lunch menu is outstanding and so reasonably priced I have already been back--and will continue. The interior is charming, the staff friendly, and the Thai food is delicious. Even the garnishes have been carved with attention to detail. Make a point to try this place as soon as you can.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5pucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best Thai since Thailand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had intended to visit DoJo where we had enjoyed a good Thai meal a couple of years ago, but being such a beautiful sunny Sunday afternoon, we really wanted to eat outside
We saw The Cricketers on Trip Advisor. Just a stone's throw from Parker's Piece up a narrow residential walkway, this pub doesn't look much from the outside but was a real find
Very simply furnished but with an outside dining area, I am sure this place has great atmosphere when busy. Very quiet when we visited, we were offered menus and told to ask if we had any questions. We had visited Thailand the previous year so were familiar with dishes, the menu was varied with a number of starters and typically Thai mains
My husband I shared Tempura Prawns which were absolutely amazing - so light and fresh, along with Calmari cooked to perfection. The Green and Red Thai curries were delicious, and my daughter said the Pad Thai was the best she'd had outside of Thailand
Service was excellent by our young waiter. The fare all tasted so fresh and was also beautifully presented. £60 for 4 of us with drinks, so excellent value too
We will definitely be returning!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great food, friendly staff, well kept beer, and a great location...hard to fault really. I particularly recommend the spring rolls. Large beer garden out the back as well, which is not that common in this part of Cambridge.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gez75t9x .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I travel a lot.
Have been eating in quite feu restaurant, top stars, but the food served in this pub is biting all the foods I have had in the past years.
Very fresh, tasteful , good advice by the water .
Very highly recommend to visit , you would not be disappointed. Definitely my number one.
Some top restaurant should come a learn what good food is from chef in The Cricketers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cricketers also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Cricketers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing