We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Cambridge area”
Review of Leverton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leverton House
Ranked #17 of 126 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Since this bed and breakfast is located on the outskirts of Cambridge along Newmarket Road, booking at the Leverton House allowed me to take advantage of the nearby Park and Ride to travel into the city hassle-free; a ride that took about 15 minutes. The room I occupied was outside of the Leverton’s main building too, in one side of a modern duplex cottage that has been constructed in the backyard, with a view of freshly-washed sheets drying on clotheslines. The small clean bedroom was cedar-lined and evoked either a cabin or a closet depending on one’s point of view. On-site parking was extremely limited, but there was street parking available in the adjacent street. The innkeeper Wendy was very pleasant and provided a lovely morning meal in the main building.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank createwks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 226 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Leverton House is made up of two suburban houses a couple of miles out from central Cambridge, with its own parking. If you don't mind the distance (there's a park and ride terminus in walking distance), it's a good choice. Our room was comfortable and well-furnished, large enough and clean. There was a good choice for breakfast and everything was of excellent quality. The welcome was warm and friendly.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pausanias1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I've been a regular guest at Leverton House since 2007 and in my opinion this is the best Bed & Breakfast establishment in Cambridge. I have stayed in many hotels and bed & breakfast places due to my previous work and travel. Leverton House provides me with everything I need when I am ever in Cambridge. Wendy (the owner) is always very welcoming, warm and friendly and I believe she does an exceptional job.

The rooms are of an excellent standard, clean/tidy and well presented, I've never had a bad night's sleep when I have stayed there and Wendy's full-English breakfasts are absolutely delicious. Links into the city centre are very good as well.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend Leverton House to anyone looking for a nice and affordable place to stay in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kunal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a very pleasant place to stay. We arrived late in the evening and were warmly greeted by Wendy. She gave us a room that was more accessible than the one we originally booked, and made us sandwiches when it became apparent that it was too late to grab something in the neighborhood. The room was very clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious - I recommend her omelettes!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ubuSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a long stay at Leverton House while I was studying at the University.

This B&B is simply excellent. Everything is well-taken care of, the food is very good, and Wendy is the nicest, kindest B&B owner that you'll find. I stayed in a single room, and had no complaints whatsoever. Although the single was perfect for me, you might want a larger room for more than one person.

I've stayed in a number of the larger hotels in Cambridge, as well as in college, but the next time I go to Cambridge, this is where I hope to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PWHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We found Leverton House beautifully presented and in a very convenient location, close to the Newmarket Road Park and Ride and to the airport, yet quiet.
The breakfast was delicious and Wendy went that extra mile to be the perfect hostess with milk and scrumptious biscuits in our room.
Chatting to other guests over a relaxed breakfast was another unexpected pleasure.

Room Tip: Even our room on the Newmarket Road was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheltonian313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

At first we had some reservation about the Leverton House' location on the outskirts of town until Wendy pointed out, and we used, the local Park 'n Ride into downtown Cambridge. We saved money and frustration by not having to park downtown and then we looked forward to coming back to the spotlessly clean and welcoming atmosphere. Great breakfasts. We'd recommend it to anybody

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riley154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,913 reviews
2.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 36 in Cambridge
447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 126 in Cambridge
175 reviews
3.9 mi away
Old School House Rooms
Old School House Rooms
#1 of 1 in Waterbeach
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leverton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leverton House

Address: 732 Newmarket Road, Cambridge CB5 8RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $96 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leverton House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We pride ourselves on our clean and comfortable rooms and friendly service. All our rooms are non-smoking and have color TVs, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryers. We also provide a patio area at the end of a pleasant garden, and off-road parking. We are located a mile and a half east of Cambridge City Centre on the A1303 (Newmarket Road) which is easily accessible from the M11 via the A14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leverton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leverton House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing