We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly BnB in Central Cambridge”
Review of Warkworth House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warkworth House
Ranked #12 of 123 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We (two adults and three kids) have stayed at Warkworth House several times and we keep coming back :-) This is a wonderful, clean and welcoming BnB with spacious and well furnished rooms and the breakfast is great. Whenever we stay here, the kids do not want to leave because they love the beans, sausages and hot chocolate they serve :-)

The BnB is situated in central Cambridge with many attractions within comfortable walking distance, and in a very safe neighbourhood (with the Police station literally across the street). If you arrive by car parking can be an issue at times but we have rarely had problems finding a spot.

Wifi is free and stable (although access in the basement living room can be erratic at times).

Mrs. Collins is a very friendly hostess and very helpful too if you need advice getting around town, calling taxies etc.

I wholeheartedly recommend Warkworth House to anyone who wants an authentic BnB experience in Cambridge :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Warkworth House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 233 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 3 a few days ago.

Location : Warkworth is probably the best located B&B in Cambridge. Every thing you need is walking distance. Shopping, sight seeing or eating and drinking. Finding it was a cinch as was getting out as we drove out after our stay. Parking is available on the road outside and around, and Kathleen provides parking permits for the duration of your stay. It is on a quiet street but 20 meters from the police station and fire station so have no fear of security.

Apartment : We had a first floor room which was HUGE and spacious even after providing for 3 beds. Extremely comfortable beds and high end toiletries were available. Very bright and airy room which would invite you to spend time in, should you so decide. But Cambridge is so beautiful that you just have to go out and explore. There is a lounge in the basement which we stumbled upon where you can rest if you'd prefer.

Breakfast : Breakfast is served in the dining room in the basement. I wouldn't say that the breakfast was top notch but was more than adequate.

We felt that the place was warm and welcoming but a little impersonal. While Kathleen lives on the premises Yu don't really see or feel her presence except to hand your keys and on departure while settling accounts. The place is run efficiently by a team so not that anything is absent, just that the opportunity to meet a local person and chat is missing. However, I imagine after having run the place for some 30 years this can be a bit tiring for her.

If you are looking for a centrally located, well run, comfortable place to rest this is where you want to be, in Cambridge.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank HarishVasudevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Warkworth House for a few nights while passing through Cambridge, and I could not have been happier with the level of comfort and service. While it has the B&B feel, this cute house has all the amenities of home, with a very cozy and intimate feel that is great for couples. What put's this place over the top is the location, which is convenient to walking anywhere in Cambridge, and also the owner, who was extremely nice, and overwhelmingly helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Warkworth House is well worth the price charged and then some. Nice clean and comfortable rooms, decently sized bathrooms. And a wide variety of breakfast choices including cooked breakfast. All very good (my experience plus hearing others comment). Best of all is the owner, Kathleen Collins, who is friendly, helpful, informative and efficient. Location - one can walk to almost every place one comes to Cambridge to see which can't be said by many other places who say they are centrally located. They aren't. National Express stop one block away. My husband and I have stayed there several times and would recommend to everyone. It isn't the Savoy. It is a place for reasonable people at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Thank you so much for your hospitality and generosity. We were made very welcome, very comfortable and delicious breakfast. Couldn't ask for a friendlier place to stay in Cambridge. This was day 3 of our coast to coast charity bike ride. We had everything we needed for a comfortable night's rest. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The building looks a bit old from the outside but surprisingly the rooms must have been recently modernised and furbished. Everything was completely new with modern and clean bathroom. Very good value for money. Quiet at night. Only 5 minutes by foot from centre. Really great breakfast. Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at Warkworth House for a 2 nights in April 2013. I originally booked a single-room, but was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a double room upon my arrival (room 10). The room itself was very spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated, with sufficient storage space, both in the bedroom and bathroom. The power showers are also an added bonus!

For breakfast, I tried the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and the full English breakfast, both of which were very good.

Warkworth House is conveniently located about a 10-minute walk from the city centre and is very close to the Parkside bus station. The train station is close as well, about a 10-minute drive (approx £5 by taxi).

The only thing that I didn't like about my stay was that the room I stayed in was located right next to the main stairwell and the foot of the stairs leads to the main entrance, so it was a bit loud when other guests were coming and going. Also, the room faced the main street (Warkworth Terrace) and was on the second floor, so I could hear a lot of the noise from the street.

I corresponded with Kathleen by e-mail on numerous occasions prior to my stay and she was very quick to respond to my questions and requests.

I would definitely consider staying here again if I'm in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderluster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth House

Address: Warkworth Terrace, Cambridge CB1 1EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $146 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warkworth House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warkworth House is a 4 star rated, family-run Victorian guest house located in the city centre.We have been offering our guests comfortable, well-appointed accommodation for over 30 years.All of our rooms are individually decorated and have ensuite facilities, flat screen televisions, and coffee/tea making facilities. Wirelss internet access and a pc is available in the lounge.A menu breakfast is served every morning including full english breakfast. Limited car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Warkworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warkworth House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing