We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great night out”
Review of Orchid Restaurant

Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 690 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $58
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Based in Cambridge (UK), we cater the finest authentic Asian ( Mainly Chinese Cuisine ) fusion cuisine. If you like Asian food, you'll love us! We aim to make your dining experience memorable by providing stylish and elegant atmosphere where you can enjoy our great quality freshly prepared food that is complemented by the excellent service. Our chef creates enchanting meals with a twist of fusion; bringing together quality ingredients and spices to offer new dinning experiences that reflect the Asian world. In addition, we provide a wide selection of drinks including wine, beer, liqueur, soft drinks and superior healthy tea. Our staff will aim to create a pleasant and relaxing experience in Karaoke & Function Room. We offer the most up-to-date sound / lighting system, latest song choices, bespoke decor to make your Karaoke experience unforgettable. Whatever the occasion, great food and a hearty welcome awaits everyone of our customers at Orchid in Newmarket Road, Cambridge.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great night out”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. A group of eight friends visited a few weeks ago and had a brilliant evening. The food was superb. The best Thai food I have ever eaten. The attention Steve gave us made our evening more enjoyable and his choice of a selection of starters for the table did not disappoint. The evening was a huge success and we have now booked to return, this time we have decided that we will also visit the Karaoke room as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4140cakemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    47
    20
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food - inventive, tasty and very staisfying”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Went on a Thursday night on a recommendation from a friend and we were not disappointed.
The starters were fantastic, substantial and a real fusion - lamb kebab, crab and fish all - all done in and inventive way. The main meals were creative and really tasty - so much better than other orient restaurants we have been to in Cambridge (or the UK). We did not have a desert as we were too full - but then who goes to an oriental restaurant for a desert!

The only issue was the slightly strange background music (unnecessary)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“many thanks steve for a terrific night!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

sat night trip to this great restaurant, superb food, wonderful surroundings, and steve could not have been more helpful from start to finish. a genuinely enjoyable evening with friends. I cant recommend this enough.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ts678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“HIGHLY RECOMMEND”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Went on Sturday night and the service and food was amazing! Was hosted by Steve who was fantastic and gave us a tour of the restaurant. Food was some of the best Chinese style I've had. Our neighbours Chris & Jo Parsons have now booked for this Friday. I'm sure Steve will look after them!

Neil

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Night Out”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We had our work Christmas party here at the end of November and couldn't fault the food or venue. Steve was incredibly helpful from the moment we made the booking to the food on the evening. The quality of the food was exceptional and the portions were generous. They carefully put together a menu to suit all tastes and needs. The karaoke room is first class and the staff were attentive all evening. We will definitely be back and I have to say it is a long overdue addition to Cambridge. Every single member of our group had a fabulous evening. Thank you so much for everything!

Helpful?
Thank Angharad81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Restaurant also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing