We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pretentious, but they do have Fussball”

The Cambridge Brew House
Ranked #56 of 693 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, British, Pub, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Cambridge Brew House is the perfect place to meet friends, relax and enjoy fine beers and a tempting selection of delicious fresh food. There is a cosy lounge bar and delightful dining areas, as well as our very own micro-brewery, and our 'craft beer wall'. We also have two fantastic rooms upstairs for private parties and offer many events for you to enjoy. Do come and see us! With our cracking Tank Room - This is the perfect place to catch the game!
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit pretentious, but they do have Fussball”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Firstly, I didn't eat here.
Secondly, I only stayed for a couple of beers.
However, my overall feeling of the place was that it was clean and well designed yet teetering on the edge of pretentiousness. The ambience was very middle class, very Cambridge. Which I guess should be expected considering it's name and situation. The beer was good if expensive, but there was a wide variety of choice. Most of the beers I was interested in (IPAs) were from London, and they seemed to be being sold at London prices.

All this considered I would definitely visit again, and would take my wife here on a date-night. And they have fussball!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamandbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeBrewhouse, General Manager at The Cambridge Brew House, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hey Adamandbex,

Interesting review thanks. I think you knid of answer some of your cirticism without me responding.

I did think it was important to point out that we have only had one London based IPA through November and December of last year. That is the exceptional Camden Pale Ale from Camden Town Brewery and it does go for £4.5 a pint but for this product thats more than acceptable in most of our customers eyes. We have stocked many other IPA's including, Lagunitas from California, Jack Brand Rye IPA from Southwold and Buxton's Black Rocks from Buxton to name a few. There are others but they are also from other parts of the UK.

Sorry if there was some confusion with the beers, glad you enjoyed the fussball.

Kind regards,

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    198
    72
    45
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good British Grub”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I remember this Cambridge location from when it used to be the Bun Shop Pub over a decade ago, and it is good to see this new Gastropub as popular as one of its predecessors. The real ale selection is excellent, the atmosphere is always lively and the food portions are tasty and enormous. A winning combination.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great ambience, good food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nice feel to this place, good food well presented and served with flair. Friendly staff and a nice selection of wines

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileenbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Absolutely loved it! The staff were super attentive despite being obviously busy for Christmas parties. Our waiter Ben was great and on his recommendation we had some of the most interesting beers I've tried for some time. Go with the Lagunitas it was awesome. Food was good but don't expect fast food speed, this is an experience so don't rush. For me its a must visit for all our friends well worth a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good staff terrible food”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch with friends, food ranged from average to undercooked. Fish served with very undercooked batter, not a pleasant experience, mushy peas served in one lump, very dry, chips were good but sadly only just warm. Served on cold plates. A rather disappointing experience .

Helpful?
Thank Silverbacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cambridge Brew House also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Cambridge Brew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing