We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple good value lunch”

Trockel, Ulmann & Freunde
Ranked #189 of 683 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Simple good value lunch”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Tasty baguettes, generous bowls of hearty soup, chunks of wholemeal bread, you get the picture. Off main tourist trails, brightly decorated and popular with students.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank spikefromsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Change of hands, change of standard”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is the third visit to my once favourite place to have lunch! Another disappointing soup and baguette...soup was supposed to be lentil - it was red and watery with no sign of it being lentil, horrible after taste. Only had salami and also ham baguettes left and this was 1 pm. Had ham but it was the case of hunt the thin piece of ham. I'm rating it poor because of my disappointment and the difference in quality, it is definately below average in my view. Trying to be positive, it still has atmosphere and they haven't changed the decor.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome lentil soup”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

For 4 pounds you get a decent size bowl and slice of bread. The soup was hot and very tasty. I've been here once before and the soup wasn't as delicious. However, someone told me I should try it again and I am glad I did.

The one caveat I have is the service. I like laid-back welcoming service. But if you prefer fast ordering, this place is not for you when it is busy. Once ordered, soup is delivered very quickly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The real draw to this cafe is the wonderful soup that it serves with delicious hearty bread. Perfect for a quick, cheap lunch. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, charming place”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A small, almost hidden gem. Good, hearty food made very well and a quiet, pleasant atmosphere. Perfect for a lunch break.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarozaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trockel, Ulmann & Freunde also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Trockel, Ulmann & Freunde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing