We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome lentil soup”

Trockel, Ulmann & Freunde
Ranked #191 of 684 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome lentil soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

For 4 pounds you get a decent size bowl and slice of bread. The soup was hot and very tasty. I've been here once before and the soup wasn't as delicious. However, someone told me I should try it again and I am glad I did.

The one caveat I have is the service. I like laid-back welcoming service. But if you prefer fast ordering, this place is not for you when it is busy. Once ordered, soup is delivered very quickly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The real draw to this cafe is the wonderful soup that it serves with delicious hearty bread. Perfect for a quick, cheap lunch. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, charming place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

A small, almost hidden gem. Good, hearty food made very well and a quiet, pleasant atmosphere. Perfect for a lunch break.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarozaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were passing this little independently run cafe and decided to try it for a quick bite of lunch.

We both had bagettes which were freshly made with good quality ingredients. Coffee and cake was also very good.

Very popular cafe with good prices and friendly staff. Will definitely return for lunch the next time in Cambridge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crosseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely homemade soup and german bread!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've been here quite a few times and it's ideal if you're short of time. It can get busy as it is very small but I've never minded sharing a table if I'm on my own. The soups are really appetising and there is normally a selection of 3. The coffee is lovely (and so is the hot chocolate). Very clean and has a lively atmosphere. Nice fresh baguettes and homemade cake. Friendly service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trockel, Ulmann & Freunde also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Trockel, Ulmann & Freunde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing