We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Virtual Aviation

Virtual Aviation
Ranked #4 of 20 Fun & Games in Cambridge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Virtual Aviation (VA) is the UK's leading independent training academy for airline pilots. Book a Flight Simulator Experience with VA and you will get to go airside at VA's Cambridge Airport Training Centre and take the controls of a multi-million-pound 737-800 flight simulator, normally reserved for training professional pilots. You will have private hire of the simulator, with an experienced airline pilot as your personal instructor. Flight Simulator Experiences are available 7 days a week, and prices start at £290 including VAT, for up to 4 people. Open-dated Gift Vouchers are available (valid for 12 months).
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited for a 1 hour experience flight at Cambridge. The team at virtual aviation were incredibly attentive/organised in the run up to the experience and the visit itself was great fun. My husband (who's present it was) took about 35 mins, and myself and our son split the rest of the time between us. Our pilot was great at finding interesting tasks for us, making it just the right amount of challenging so it was really interesting but still achievable.
Despite being a fixed-based simulator the graphics give you a good sense of movement.
Would highly recommend.

3  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virtual A, Manager at Virtual Aviation, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you very much fro your review, we are thrilled that your husband enjoyed the experience. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain mark"
in 2 reviews
"strobe lights"
in 2 reviews
"pre flight"
in 2 reviews
"unforgettable experience"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 2 reviews
"instructor"
in 34 reviews
"cockpit"
in 13 reviews
"heathrow"
in 12 reviews
"simulator"
in 52 reviews
"session"
in 17 reviews
"thrust"
in 4 reviews
"visual"
in 8 reviews
"scenarios"
in 3 reviews
"tiller"
in 2 reviews
"knobs"
in 2 reviews
"hardware"
in 2 reviews
"techniques"
in 2 reviews
Filter

53 - 57 of 92 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had the greatest day out at virtual aviation . My two instructors for the day Rick and Rob both comercial pilots made my day unforgetable. The set up was very relaxed but professional. Rick and Rob may fly for a living but they are enthusiasts too and it shows . They made me feel one of the team and worked really hard to make my experience as realistic as possible.
If you are a flight sim nerd like me . Then this experience is for you. The graphics are superb and the feeling of real movement is mindblowing .
I even managed to land on no engines .

2  Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virtual A, Manager at Virtual Aviation, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Great! Thank you so much for your review, we a thrilled that you enjoyed the experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had a really amazing time. We were briefed for a short time and then spent an hour in the simulator. The Graphics were good and the pilot was great. Would recomend it.

1  Thank donnadohnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virtual A, Manager at Virtual Aviation, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, it was great to meet you. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was bought an experience for my birthday, I am a PPL (Private Pilot) but it has lapsed and I haven't been that motivated to re-gain the licence. We arrived and had a very good briefing for around 40 minutes with a BA pilot and we then proceeded to the Sim.

Its not a full motion sim but its very very good, the controls and cockpit are excellent and (as far as I know) very realistic with real avionic displays and controls throughout. We did some great exercises and had some fun too.

We did a stall, a barrel roll (yes in a 737-800!) a rock and roll ride through the mountains and a number of landings, one in some great scenery and then a number at Hong Kong, pausing briefly to fly it under a bridge but unfortunately we hit the water first (it was close!). We did a number of different landings at Hong Kong, a straightforward good vis landing, a low cloud base ILS landing, a night landing and some interesting landings with cross winds.

The time went way too fast but we crammed a lot in!

The guys at Virtual aviation are real enthusiasts and make the day really entertaining, I would definitely go back, but I think I might book more time next time!

3  Thank honeymooncoupleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virtual A, Manager at Virtual Aviation, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you very much for the review and your images, it was great to meet you both. We are so pleased you enjoyed the experience and you love for flying has increased! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was a fantastic day out in Cambridge. You can do a real flight or something that you may not be able to do in a real plane. Great for all the family as you fly the plane and some visitors can watch from behind. You would think that you were in a real plane.

2  Thank 202Joshua202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virtual A, Manager at Virtual Aviation, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thanks for your kind words Josh, we are glad you enjoyed the experience. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virtual Aviation also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Virtual Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing