We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Go Punting Cambridge - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
All that I had hoped

Returning to Cambridge for a special celebration with family and friends, we took a trip on the... read more

Reviewed June 13, 2018
Deepa P
,
North Wales, United Kingdom
via mobile
great punt trip

We hired a private punt and had a brilliant trip up and down the river. Harry was a super guide... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2017
Rick S
,
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Read all 68 reviews
  
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
42
15
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
15
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private punt the river punt trip punting company
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 61 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

Returning to Cambridge for a special celebration with family and friends, we took a trip on the Backs with this company. A perfect trip, all that I hoped for. Skilled punting and young man punting us had a good sense of humour.
I had hoped for a magical and nostalgic hour and that is what we had.
To be revisited and recommend!

Thank Deepa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

We hired a private punt and had a brilliant trip up and down the river. Harry was a super guide , very friendly , entertaining and good fun .

Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016

A guided punt tour is a must although in my opinion very overpriced. If you go to the local tourist information centre you can obtain discount tickets. The tickets are accepted by different operators depending on the day of the week. We fortunately purchased ours on a Sunday and had a fantastic tour

Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2016

We were determined to experience a punt trip on the river Cam during our recent day out at Cambridge. Whilst we generally enjoyed it there were one or two things that could have been better,
Some punts were equipped with cushions due to travelling in almost a horizontal position. Unfortunately there were insufficient on our punt which made for an uncomfortable ride .We suggest anyone doing the trip checks the availability before setting off. Our punt operator whilst very knowledgeable was barely audible to those furthest away and consequently we only heard around 60% of the commentary.
The river was very busy and we were continually making contact with other punts causing some discomfort at the point of impact. On the plus side it was lovely to view the various colleges from the water. We would suggest that anyone contemplating this trip should be fairly agile as it is not easy to enter and alight the punt. Certainly not recommended for anyone with back problems.

Thank GJCWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

Hubby booked a private punting trip for our visit to Cambridge. What a great experience. Our driver (punt operator) was James and he was friendly and knowledgeable.
It was dry and sunny but a bit chilly. Blankets were provided and we were snug and warm.
Our operator was friendly and recommended some other places we should visit during our day in Cambridge. He was a star.
Would recommend.

Thank Trudi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

We used this company because we had read the reviews then booked on line and to be honest when we arrived in Cambridge and had a walk about to familiarise ourselves with the area and to find out what the score was as far as reserving a place . We were glad we had used them as they seemed far more professional than others.
We were fortunate to have Matt as our Punter he was a mine of information but made it such fun too !.
And we came back to land after about an hour richer in knowledge .
Try to keep away from weekend if possible as self hire punters although funny to watch do slow things down somewhat .

Thank coconumber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016

Overall experience was very good mainly due to having a great tour guide (Luke). A very relaxing trip and great way to see some sights along the river.

Thank Jonny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

There are many companies that offer the ride, so I'm not sure this is the one I took. I got the one made by students, on a boat with other people and in the channel behind the colleges' gardens. It was lots of fun. The student tells stories as it "punts" the boat.

1  Thank Tata_Paulista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

This was the first thing we did once we arrived in Cambridge. We truly went there with the intent of seeing the colleges and the town, but were approached shortly after arriving about a punting tour. So glad we did this. Interesting little tour. Our guide was a local college student finishing up. Enjoyed seeing all the bridges and architecture from a different view.

1  Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

My partner and I took this trip for her birthday, punting along the Cam River with a bottle of Prosseco. Trip takes about 40 mins and was really great.

We booked one of the official tours for £19 pp and our "captain" was great, really informative about all the beautiful colleges and bridges etc.

Well worth the money, Thanks everyone for a special day!

Thank Lotish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews