We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 5 Chapel Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
5 Chapel Street
Ranked #8 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
“Delightful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

It was our first time in Cambridge and thanks to this B&B, we really enjoyed our professionnal journey in Cambridge. This trip reveals to be very relaxing thanks to it! We borrowed two bikes to Christine, the owner: essential to visit Cambridge! The B&B place is really relaxing, near the river, in a very calm street and with very good meals. We have stayed 4 nights and the breakfast was different every morning from eggs, sausage to fish, and home made delicious marmelade. Most importantly, Christine and her husband are so lovely people. We miss you! This trip was so good that we are now living in Cambridge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
It was lovely to meet you both - one of our first ever guests! so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope we will see you soon now that you have come to Cambridge for good ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    22
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
62
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We treated ourselves to an overnight trip back to Cambridge and happened on Chapel Street. A truly 'sympa' B&B; style, comfort, solicitous and interesting hosts, great food and green sensibilities. A lovely walk,along the river, into town, all you could ask for if you want a relaxing and real experience of one of the greatest cities.
Can't wait to find another opportunity to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, it was a great pleasure to meet you both and I hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here twice in 2012 - the first visit was pure luck, through finding the place on the internet, the second carefully arranged so that we could relive the wonderful experience we had previously enjoyed! We rate 5 Chapel Street very highly - it's a jewel of a B&B. The accommodation itself is very comfortable, everything is arranged with your comfort in mind and nothing is too much trouble. The food is homemade, high quality and very tasty! Then there's the location, plenty of peace and quiet and such fun cycling into the centre of Cambridge along the beautiful towpath. We will always stay here when we visit Cambridge.

Room Tip: Bedroom 1 - fab bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_brookwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
It was a great pleasure to meet you both times that you stayed with us and we look forward to your third visit. Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

For a cab fare of approximately 9 pounds from the city centre, there is a gem of bed and breakfast in Cambridge at 5 Chapel St. The house has a professional, yet friendly feel to it. The ensuite bedroom which I occupied (Room 3) was small, but I wouldn't let that put anyone off as it was very cosy, tastefully furnished, impeccably clean with lovely little thoughtful inclusions such as a jar of miniature homemade cookies and a selection of teas and coffee left beside a kettle for guests. Although the house is located on a street, there is very little traffic on it, so a quiet night is guaranteed. For breakfast, I was spoiled for choice and particularly tasty was the selection of homemade rolls and bread, all made by the owner, Christine. The price of the particular room I stayed in was 80 pounds and I felt my stay was well worth it and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ainetreasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
It was lovely to meet you and I hope your endeavours in Cambridge were successful and that we will have the chance to welcome you back to 5 Chapel Street. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

It's not often you think about returning to a B&B for the sake of returning there, but 5 Chapel Street is certainly one of those places. In a cosy house with spacious and luxurious rooms, we were made to feel welcome by our hosts as soon as we stepped through the door. The rooms too are thoughtfully furnished with attention to detail. Above all the food is delicious, with homemade breads for breakfast and little cookies in the bedrooms (which, needless to say, were rapidly devoured!). Certainly it is not exactly in the centre of Cambridge, but I would recommend a detour to anyone. (N.B. the stars regarding the fitness centre and pool are the result of wanting to splurge stars and being unable to remove the category without giving lower stars; however unsurprisingly there is not a fitness centre or pool, though there needn't really be one!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank js_m12_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We're so glad you liked our B&B, thank you very much for the warm recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Cambridge is not exactly well-endowed with good places to stay. The hotels are either too expensive or cheap chains. And most of the B&Bs seem to be on busy main roads and lack character. So 5 Chapel Street is definitely the answer. It's a pretty, characterful old house on a virtually silent little road with very friendly owners who put a lot of effort into making your stay enjoyable. We stayed in the "posh" room, with a large double bed and double-aspect windows. Sheets and pillows were of the highest quality and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was gorgeous, with a roll-top bath, good shower and a slate floor. There were handmade biscuits in the room and filtered water (Cambridge's tap water tastes horrible). The wifi was free, fast and reliable.

Breakfast couldn't have been more delicious. I had wonderful Suffolk sausages, bacon etc, while my husband had a plump kipper from Norfolk. Bread was homemade and the coffee was strong. There was also a fresh fruit salad and home-made muesli.

The downside is that it's some distance from the centre of town (though you can walk along the river or borrow bikes from the owners). Only one minor criticism: the bedroom doors are flimsy, so you could be woken by other guests walking past. But we'll definitely go back next time we go up to Cambridge to visit our student daughter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank columnist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We're so glad you were happy here and look forward to seeing you again. I know what you mean about the bedroom doors - as the building is listed we have to keep them as they are I'm afraid. I guess that I could hang a thick curtain over the door in the future? Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Really lovely stay. Room was perfect with Everything you could need. Home made biscuits in room which were delicious and fresh milk for tea. Breakfast excellent too. My husband especially liked the home made museli and i thought the home made bread was fantastic. Location is great too as it's nice and peaceful and an easy 15 to 20 minute stroll along the river into town which is a lovely walk. The welcome is warm too. Christine is a caring host. All in all probably one of the best places i've ever stayed. Really fab!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susietwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for writing such a positive review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again here in Cambridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.1 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5 Chapel Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Chapel Street

Property: 5 Chapel Street
Address: 5 Chapel Street, Cambridge CB4 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 5 Chapel Street 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Georgian house with high quality very comfortable beds. Guests eat a superb breakfast from local free range ingredients with homemade bread, seated around a communal breakfast table. Cambridge city centre is a short and scenic riverside walk away. On-street free parking outside the house or round the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 5 Chapel Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing