We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely house on a quiet street”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 5 Chapel Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
5 Chapel Street
Ranked #8 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely house on a quiet street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Cambridge is not exactly well-endowed with good places to stay. The hotels are either too expensive or cheap chains. And most of the B&Bs seem to be on busy main roads and lack character. So 5 Chapel Street is definitely the answer. It's a pretty, characterful old house on a virtually silent little road with very friendly owners who put a lot of effort into making your stay enjoyable. We stayed in the "posh" room, with a large double bed and double-aspect windows. Sheets and pillows were of the highest quality and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was gorgeous, with a roll-top bath, good shower and a slate floor. There were handmade biscuits in the room and filtered water (Cambridge's tap water tastes horrible). The wifi was free, fast and reliable.

Breakfast couldn't have been more delicious. I had wonderful Suffolk sausages, bacon etc, while my husband had a plump kipper from Norfolk. Bread was homemade and the coffee was strong. There was also a fresh fruit salad and home-made muesli.

The downside is that it's some distance from the centre of town (though you can walk along the river or borrow bikes from the owners). Only one minor criticism: the bedroom doors are flimsy, so you could be woken by other guests walking past. But we'll definitely go back next time we go up to Cambridge to visit our student daughter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank columnist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We're so glad you were happy here and look forward to seeing you again. I know what you mean about the bedroom doors - as the building is listed we have to keep them as they are I'm afraid. I guess that I could hang a thick curtain over the door in the future? Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    22
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
62
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Really lovely stay. Room was perfect with Everything you could need. Home made biscuits in room which were delicious and fresh milk for tea. Breakfast excellent too. My husband especially liked the home made museli and i thought the home made bread was fantastic. Location is great too as it's nice and peaceful and an easy 15 to 20 minute stroll along the river into town which is a lovely walk. The welcome is warm too. Christine is a caring host. All in all probably one of the best places i've ever stayed. Really fab!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susietwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for writing such a positive review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again here in Cambridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forli, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I reccomend this elegant B&B if you value a selection of home made cuisine, breads , jams, fruit salad, muesli. Comfortable and cosy bedroom, above all cleanliness, all white decor, cool all white cotton bed linen, soft white bathrobes and towels. Quiet peaceful enviroment.
A ten min walk into the city centre.
The owners are friendly and welcoming..
A place to return to.
RITA & UMBY

Room Tip: Quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rita_peretoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We're delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and we were really happy to meet you. Thank you for your lovely words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We would advise anyone seeking a first class B&B in the Cambridge area to consider No. 5. Organic food where possible, well sourced meat products, home made bread and jams - all to the highest standards -in a a calm and peaceful area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and our very first TripAdvisor review! It was so nice to meet you both and I hope the weather continued to bless your onward journey. Looking forward to your next visit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at 5 Chapel Street for just one night but were very impressed with this new B&B. The recently renovated property is charming from the outside with lovely, traditionally decorated bedrooms and smart en suite bathrooms. There was a choice of cooked breakfasts with homemade bread and organic jams. We opted for kedgeree, which was delicious. There are tea making facilities in all rooms, including ground coffee, a cafetiere and home cooked biscuits. There is wifi in all rooms and bicycles available to explore Cambridge. The only downside is the size of the rooms, which are rather cosy but the very comfortable bed with high quality linen makes up for this. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and we would definitely come again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at 5 Chapel Street, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
So glad you liked our B&B, it was a great pleasure to meet you both and I hope you may manage a longer stay in lovely Cambridge next time. Our "posh" room (bedroom one) is a little pricier but more spacious too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.1 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5 Chapel Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Chapel Street

Property: 5 Chapel Street
Address: 5 Chapel Street, Cambridge CB4 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 5 Chapel Street 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Georgian house with high quality very comfortable beds. Guests eat a superb breakfast from local free range ingredients with homemade bread, seated around a communal breakfast table. Cambridge city centre is a short and scenic riverside walk away. On-street free parking outside the house or round the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 5 Chapel Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing