We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money but!”
Review of Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashley Hotel
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have been visiting Cambridge several times a year for the last three years as our son has been at University. The Ashley has been a frequent stop over for us when picking him up and dropping off him off. Cambridge is an extremely expensive place to stay so value for money the Ashley ticks the box good breakfast ,free parking,good location and helpful staff at the nearby Arundel. The hotel is a bed and breakfast not a hotel and could do with some TLC.What puzzles me is that they have had the same sign up saying the hotel is under extensive refurbishment and to please bear with them. Mm it must be extensive as i haven't seen any sign of refurbishment the whole time we have visited. It generally needs the owners to invest some much needed money into it and get some new cleaners. For a short stay you could do alot worse.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patty_44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 187 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

To describe Ashley as a hotel is a misnomer. There are no staff on site until breakfast time and one has to book in at the Arundal Hotel prior to arrival at the Ashley.. The most bizarre aspect is that one cannnot access the room until 3pm; This arrangement is not customer friendly for those wishing to change or freshen up before seeing the sights. The residence itself is clean and tidy, with high ceilings, most mod cons and free wi-fi. Cambridge is a vastly over-priced city and therefore the Ashley is reasonably priced for the locale.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dillonalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed just one night as we had a posh meal booked round the corner. It's perfect if you 're eating at Midsummer House, just a 5 minute walk down a quiet road to the river. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. TV and free Wi-Fi provided. As others have noted, this little hotel is part of the Arundel House Hotel, where you have to book in. Breakfast is served in Ashley House though and is excellent. Although the hotel is by the busy road, the double-glazing works well and it's quiet. The hotel car park, behind, is spacious and easy to access.
I would certainly recommend for visitors who need something simple and don't plan to spend loads of time in the room itself.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was at the front but still quiet, and easy for bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wsxtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here for a night when visiting Cambridge and were very pleased with the hotel. It is worth noting that check in is at the sister hotel which is a ten minute walk away but the hotel is clean and the rooms a good size with clean bathrooms and white towels. It is stated that the owners are endeavouring to refurbish the whole hotel and it is a little old fashioned in style but this does not detract from a stay here. The breakfast was good and freshly prepared and there is parking which is a bonus in Cambridge. It is about a fifteen minute walk to the centre. I would recommend this hotel if you want a reasonably priced and pleasant place to stay in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had 2 families of 4, and stayed in 3 triples for the weekend. It was a bit of a walk to downtown, but ok for our teens. Breakfast was good, rooms were spare but clean. Bonus was being close to the cheaper end of the punting rentals, and the public pool (cold!). Easy getting a cab to and from the train station. In other words, a Rick Steves kind of hotel.

Room Tip: Beware lots of stairs, as this hotel is several townhomes connected at the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sconnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just returned from a weekend at the ashley hotel, our room was on the top floor no8, room was very comfortable with a lovely soft bed, although it's beside the road it was very quiet, the full english breakfast they serve is very generous and all the waiting staff are pleasant, overall it's not a bad place to stay but definitely not a hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in this hotel Jan 2014. When we arrived I was a little disappointed as the entrance could do with a tidy, but I have to say other than that (and they do have a notice that they are refurbishing) our stay was delightful. Our room was clean plenty of tea/coffee and the staff were more than helpful.

The breakfast room is decorated brightly and the breakfast was really enjoyable. Again the breakfast staff were polite and friendly.

We stayed in room 7 which is on the top floor and was ample room for 2 people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.4 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#25 of 36 in Cambridge
740 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,081 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
19 reviews
1.9 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Hotel

Address: 74 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $104 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing