We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
SUFFOLK
1 review
“We will be back!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very clean and such a bargin weekend price. we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank SuffolkWelshlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Good Morning

Thank you for posting your kind comments on Tripadvisor about your recent stay here at The Holiday Inn Express Cambridge. I am very glad that we have met and exceeded your expectations of a stay within our brand and i look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Matthews
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    296
    146
    33
    19
See reviews for
136
204
28
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

After a small confusion identifying the place, we were happy to arrive at the hotel. We had followed other Holiday Inn Express signage from the freeway which put us in a very different place - near another Holiday Inn. They were ready for us, as they had had lots of other people do the same, and they provided us with a photocopied map of directions from their establishment to the one we were booked into.

This hotel is in the middle of an industrial type area, amongst car retail centres. This meant that there were not alot of options around us to eat other than at the hotel other to get back in the car. (This was made more difficult by heavy snow!) We were also advised by the girl on reception to take a cab into Cambridge as parking was expensive. This was not the best advice as the parking cost us $6, and a round trip to Cambridge in a cab would have cost around $20.

Eating at the hotel was a pleasant enough experience, and the food was ample servings of a failr standard fare.The rooms were clean and comfortable, but with an extra bed in the room, it was squishy with luggage. We appreciated the tea and coffee making facilities very much.

A good stopover on a road or business trip!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Cambridge twice; suited my needs just fine. A £6.00 taxi ride from the train station to an out of the way trading estate with an adjacent John Lloyd leisure/fitness centre. This HIE has a restaurant for evening meals from a limited but sufficient menu. Being only moments away, the first choice for Cambridge airport.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Exactly what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. New concrete box hotel built on a business park a short way out of Cambridge.

Rooms clean, quiet, but on the small side. Beds comfortable. Staff reasonably efficient in a disintersted teenage sort of way.

Food in the restaurant in the evening, just about passable, although clearly out of a microwave. Breakfast very poor by anyone's standard. Juice didn't taste like oranges or apples. Cereal clearly the cheapest generic, so bad my son couldn't even finish his cornflakes. Scrambled eggs appeared to be reconstituted egg powder!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Not too far from the centre. Friendly staff, clean comforable room as expected fron HI Express - great value at £75

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stayed here for one night whilst doing some Christmas shopping in Cambridge. The hotel is a short easy taxi ride from the City centre - the hotel recption has a phone that goes direct to a taxi firm and they are very good.

The rooms are a typical Express by Holiday Inn room - very clean, comfy and average size.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was adequate although it was a little busy when we were there but the staff were quick to replenish items.

We would definately recommend this hotel and indeed stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

If you only need a good night sleep during your trip in Cambridge, this is right the hotel. Located out of town, the surrounding area is lush green and quiet. Minimalist style and very colourful. Room is extremely clean and the bedding is extremely comfort. Highly recommended, especially for families and backpackers.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h4r10_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#12 of 36 in Cambridge
998 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, newly refurbished bedrooms with comfort cooling, free onsite parking, a daily complimentary continental breakfast with hot items served in our sociable Great Room and discounted local fitness centre rates. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free wireless Internet. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing