We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best experience”
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Me and my wife stayed int he Express Holiday Inn for a weekend which involved a family wedding in Cambridge. Despite it's location, a few miles outside of the city centre, the hotel was chosen due to what seemed at the time like a good deal.

At first glance, the room itself looked to be fine. Quite basic, but with all the things which would be expected for a hotel of its class.

Not included however, was a bed which on which it was possible to sleep on, and which had a mattress which felt more like it should be used as a bouncy castle, and so worn that it was possible to actually see how the middle of the mattress caved in, without the need to even lie on the bed. Given the time of arrival, which was nearing midnight, we stuck with it for one night, and requested a change of rooms first thing in the morning.

The second room proved to be slightly more comfortable. There was still very little support offered by the bed, which anyone who suffers from back problems will not appreciate, but at least it was closer to being flat this time. The biggest problem of this room was that the air conditioning was faulty, which made the room warmer, regardless of whether it was set to lower the temperature of the room or not.

The location was fine, although without a car, it wouldn't be easy to get into the city. With a car, it's around a 10-15 minute drive, but with expensive car parking charges in the city centre.

As many have already noted, the range of food and drinks on offer as part of the buffet breakfast was surprisingly good.

The staff themselves were friendly, but I would certainly back up many of the other comments here which point out that there is plenty of room for improvement from a customer service point of view. This was highlighted by a near 10 minute wait at an empty reception desk to check out, whilst two members of the reception team were chatting in the office behind the desk, oblivious to the fact that we were trying to get their attention.

For a hotel which advertised a room rate of £120 a night, our experience is that there are improvements needed before it can be considered good value at even half of that price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfcjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, February 15, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Our guests' comfort and satisfaction with their stay is of key importance to us and a good night sleep and comfortable bed is the most important part of the stay and I apologise that your bed did not achieve this.

We have recently replaced a number of beds and continue to do so as part of a rolling replacement programme.

We have recently reviewed our food offering in the hotel and have introduced a broader menu choice for dinner.

The whole team here at the hotel have recently taken part in a extensive Customer Care programme and I am confident that the whole team is focused on ensuring that out guests have a great stay every time.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards

David Reading
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    296
    143
    34
    18
See reviews for
134
205
28
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed in the Holdiay inn for only one night last week. First of all the hotel is not in a great location. It is a long way out of Cambridge city centre therefore you need to have a car. Upon arrival on wednesday afternoon 31/09 we stood at the reception desk for 5 mins until the lady had finshed what she was writting before we were even acknowledged. The room was very small with a lovely view of the carpark but otherwise ok. However, the shower had numerous hairs in it and the toliet area had numerous pubic hairs. Luckily Cambridge was such a lovely place to visit that we simply avoid our hotel until sleep time. Internet cost a fortune too. My advice is to stay somewhere else...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cutlet00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, February 15, 2010
Thank you for your comments and review of your stay with us.

I apologise for the disappointment you felt with your stay.

Our whole team has recently taken part in an expensive Customer Care programme as part of the Global relaunch of Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express and I am confident that the levels of Customer Service at the hotel have increased significantly.

We are proud of our usual high standards of Housekeeping in the hotel and apologise that you experienced some issues in your room.

Following guest feedback we are in the process of installing free WiFi in our lounge areas and this will be completed by the end of March 2010.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards

David Reading
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Arrived as part of a group booking with all accomodation previously paid for and had to give credit card details to cover incidental expenses even though I had no intention of being fleeced. Was given no bill on departure, which was to be expected as no extra costs were incurred. However upon checking credit card statement a few weeks later I find that Holiday Inn have taken £500 from my account. As yet this has not been resolved. Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djia977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and comment on the service you received.

The account for the group booking which you were part of was to be charged to a credit card, however in error your own card provided on arrival had been charged. This was immediately corrected when you contacted us and the refund made to your card.

I hope that your stay was comfortable and please once again accept my apologies for this error. I may be contacted by e-mail on gm@expresscambridge.co.uk.

Sincerely

David Reading
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asian in Cambridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

The hotel's amenities are superb but the location is remote unless you drive. The receptionist ( on duty on 16 Sept 2009 at about 12 noon) does not know what is good customer service. She is rude and does not give good advisory service despite being asked. She does not understand that she would be jobless if there are no guests at the hotel. I hope the management can do something about this as there is another review in Aug 2009 that also mentioned that staff should give more ADVISORY advice to guests..

The room is cosy and comfortable with all the amenities well maintained. As the location is remote and it is a hassle for guests who do not drive to go to the town centre. My suggestion is that the hotel starts a free shuttle bus to ferry guests from hotel to city centre and railway station at regular intervals. This would greatly improve the hotel's occupancy rate.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orientalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, February 15, 2010
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor and I am pleased that you were pleased with the amenities of the hotel.

Please accept my apologies however for the disappointment you felt with the levels of Customer Service from some of the team.

We have recently taken part in extensive Customer Service Training programme as part of the relaunch of the Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express brands and am confident that the levels of Customer Service we offer have significantly improved.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards

David Reading
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights and were generally very pleased. It is very clean, and modern, with free car parking, and in a good location. There is a park & ride about 5 minutes drive away, which is the best option for getting into Cambridge, as parking in the City centre is limited and expensive. The only complaint we had about the hotel was that on check-in (Friday night) we were advised that breakfast was served between 9-11am ...which it is on Saturday & Sunday, however we were staying until Tuesday, and missed breakfast on the last day as it is served between 7:30 - 9:30 am weekdays. It would have been nice to have been informed of this on arrival, also the key code for the car park exit was not given to us on arrival, however there is a notice at reception telling you what the code is. Our room was cramped for 3 of us, with the equivalent of two double beds next to each other, but we did only sleep in there so we didn't mind that.
We also got it alot cheaper by booking in advance, £300 for 4 nights, when it is £120 a night normally. Worth staying at if you're in the area, we will stay here next time we go to Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BasicJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We sayed for 3 nights while attending the Cambridge Folk Festival. Our previous visit to the festival was 33 yeras ago when we were camping. This time we are a bit older and wanted a bit more comfort. The room was larger and more comfortable than we had expected. The staff were always available and very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was adequate and effiicient. Plenty of parking spaces even though the hotel was full.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonah_Noah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This was our second stay at this hotel. Very good hotel for one or two night stay. Rooms spotless, bed comfortable, good power shower and good selection of cereals and bread for breakfast. Would return again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank essexfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, newly refurbished bedrooms with comfort cooling, free onsite parking, a daily complimentary continental breakfast with hot items served in our sociable Great Room and discounted local fitness centre rates. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free wireless Internet. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing