We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Surprise, great services, great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for two nights at the end of August. There was a large group Including the bride &groon staying for a family wedding. From the moment we arrived we were treated with a warm welcome, our rooms were a great size & spotless, we had a baby with us & it was easy and accessible with the buggy & his cot. About 15 of us in total then had a meal, we were offer complimentary Buck's Fizz which was a nice touch and the staff were greatly accommodating. The food was fine. We felt really taken care of and had such a great time. With a great atmosphere & other diners also eating. breakfast in the morning was well set out & simple nice food again. I have stayed at many holiday inns/travelodges etc & I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, it's affordable and overall the staff win in my book. They were simply fantastic. Many thanks to all the team for all your hard work!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 661 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Room was clean and had everything needed. Only issue is that there is no socket for hair straighteners/tongs near any mirror making it difficult to do ones hair. Breakfast sausages were mostly bread and there was a very limited selection of breakfast items. Holiday Inn claims that breakfast is free, which irritates me as I cannot walk in off the street and eat breakfast free, I have to stay and pay, why are they not honest and say it is included in the room tarrif.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloriamundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you Gloriamundi for writing a review, we are glad you found our rooms clean and had everything you needed and please do not hesitate to ask for an extension lead at reception which will enable you to use your hair products in front of the mirror.

Your comments have been taken on board with regards to breakfast and we appreciate your feedback to enable us to improve on our quality and service we provide.

We hope your able to return to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge in the near future.

Many thanks Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here over a long holiday weekend and it has become one of my favorite hotels to stay in. The hotel is nice and quiet with clean and tidy rooms. I'm always appreciative of the ability to make tea in a hotel room and enjoyed several cups while watching the bunnies that roam the hotel grounds through my room window. The staff was friendly and wonderfully helpful, particularly Marius, and they made me feel like family. The breakfast served was hearty and filling (may I suggest putting bacon out with the sausages?). I honestly can't find a bad thing to say about the hotel or the staff, and I will happily stay here again in the future on my next trip to England.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room towards the back of the hotel if you're looking for quiet time. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eur0peAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have rated this hotel excellent due to the value for money. The staff were all lovely and helpful (especially Marias) but there needed to be more of them on reception and in the bar area to prevent queues.

We stayed here for a Hen weekend and found it perfectly suited our needs - cheap, cheerful, clean and close to Cambridge.

The rooms are exceptionally clean, had modern decor and adequate storage space. There was a lock and a chain on each room door which is important as a security feature. Bathroom was lacking in toiletries (just cheap soap dispensers) but there was a sign saying you could request complimentary toiletries if you had forgotten anything. There was a hairdryer, full-length mirror and flat screen TV but no iron/ironing board, sewing kit etc - not surprising as it is a budget hotel.

Location was a little way out of town so would probably stay in town if I were to visit again but taxis were approx £10 each way so not too bad.

Complimentary, buffet breakfast is always welcome. There were all the usual choices (cereal, fruit, yoghurt, pastries and cooked brekky) but the hot food and bread was not in abundance so had to wait for various parts of the meal to be supplied at different times.

The hotel was quite peaceful despite another hen party and a stag party staying during the same weekend. The hotel is on an industrial park so there is minimal noise from outside too.

Overall, a good hotel if you ae looking for somewhere clean, quiet and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I have just spent three nights in this hotel. We asked for a quiet room on the top floor we were given exactly what we asked for. We had a lovely view overlooking the lake,and were entertained by the rabbits. The service was excellent so was the food. Every member of staff were friendly and helpful. No complaints at all. Robert

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Robert b,

Many thanks for posting such a great review of our hotel! I am glad to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we were able to accommodate you in one of our top floor rooms with a great view of the nearby lake and of course our very unique hotel feature, the rabbits in our gardens!
On behalf of myself and the team, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Cambridge,
Kind Regards
Kate Green
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and self stayed here for 2nights at the start of the new football season,as our home team were playing Cambridge town.it's a lovely hotel,the ROOMS are spacious and clean.we thought they were being a bit tight with the tea and coffee on our arrival,but when we went to reception they gave us ENOUGH for the whole week.the breakfasts are something to see,absolutely amazing.it's a buffet breakfast,which you help yourself to.there's various cereals,fruits of all kinds.croissants,DIFFERENT breads for toast,if that's what you like,to sausages and scrambled eggs.there's all so different teas and coffees and not forgetting a variety of fruit juices..would not hesitate to stay here if visiting Cambridge again.

Room Tip: All ROOMS appear the same,we stayed at the front of the hotel and the only NOISE we heard was from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariereidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear mariereidy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel, I am delighted that you found the hotel to be convenient for the football at Cambridge United, and that you enjoyed your stay with us!
At Holiday Inn Express our breakfast buffet is always free of charge, so it is great to hear your positive comments regarding the selection and quality of items available! As you mentioned, our friendly team are always on hand to help out with any requests, from simply providing tea and coffee or recommendations on the local area.
On behalf of myself and the team here at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area!
Kind Regards

Kate
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is pretty new and the rooms are far more friendly than the normal IHG Express. Not the cheapest but I suppose it's a supply and demand thing.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fine and to the usual Express standard. The only drawback was that it was a bit out the way and not a lot to do without getting back in the car!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,068 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
438 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.3 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $87 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, well-equipped bedrooms with comfort cooling and free onsite parking. A continental buffet breakfast with hot items is included for all guests and is served in our sociable Great Room. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free Wi-Fi. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing