We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, clean room - breakfast could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our family group were allocated rooms near each other as requested, the rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and the bathroom spotless. The double glazed windows didn't keep out the noise of people talking in the car park, and we were woken at 6 am on Sunday morning by people talking in a room on another floor (maybe they had their window open?). The location is very convenient for a city visit, parking is free and we took the 7 minute walk through the footpath to where we could get a bus into the city, as advised by the reception staff.
The down side was the breakfast. The buffet area is too small, there was no skimmed milk for the cereals. The fresh fruit was just apples, which I don't like but had brought my own grapefruit which I ate in my room. As a coeliac, I am unable to eat sausages and beans (unless they are good quality Heinz beans). I took my own GF bread and aimed for as little cross-contamination as possible when using the toaster, then added some scrambled egg which was lumpy and dry. There were yoghurts but unfortunately I don't like those.
Unfortunately there is no-where nearby this hotel to go for breakfast, and in any case the cost is included with your stay.
We travelled north afterwards and stayed at the Premier Inn Reebok in Bolton and had a fantastic cooked breakfast, fruit and cereals - and the two night stay worked out much less than staying at a Hoiday Inn Express.
Now for the REALLY INTERESTING bit!!!! There was a young girl clearing the breakfast tables, she was wearing trousers and a short jacket. Every time she leaned over to collect dishes from a table, her trousers slipped down her backside almost to the top of her legs, showing ALL of her skimpy satin panties, AND her bottom!!! Very unappetising at that time of day. Shameful. She must have known/felt the draft on her buttocks, the room wasn't very warm! Only wish I'd had my iPhone camera handy, would have loved to have put a photo on here. Maybe just as well I didn't.
Because it was a family gathering, we didn't want to make a fuss and spoil their weekend, but all 7 of the family at our table felt this was very inappropriate dress for someone working in that environment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoeliacSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear CoeliacSussex,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your stay. I am happy to hear that our location was convenient for you and you found our rooms to be comfortable. I truly regret the breakfast situation that inconvenienced your stay. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. We will use your comments to improve our efforts.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 664 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

We (family of 4 with kids 12 and 9) stayed here for one night whilst visiting a family member at Cambridge University. Friendly welcome, compact but very comfortable and clean room, cleverly designed and spotless bathroom and a great breakfast. It isnt in the centre of Cambridge, but neither is its price tag! Great affordable family accommodation that exceeded our expectations.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank cocopops1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Having stayed here before we knew what to expect and we were not disappointed as the standards had not dropped, excellant welcome and the room was very clean and also quite.
The only thing I would suggest is that the low wall between the breakfast bar and the seating area is moved forward to increase the area in the breakfast bar as its a tad small and if you get a few people in there.
We will certainly return there when in the area again

Room Tip: If you like wildlife ask for a room on the second floor at the back of the hotel, this faces the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed as a family of 5 at this hotel on the friday night of a bank holiday weekend. The reception staff were helpful and friendly and arranged earl check in for us as we were going to a wedding. It is a nice bright clean modern hotel in a quiet location. Rooms comfortable and well equipped. Bar and lounge good . Breakfast very good , help yourself buffet, Compared to city centre hotels it was far cheaper and only cost £10 for a taxi into Cambridge. Would highly reccomend for families and groups.

Room Tip: All rooms good value, comfortable and adequately equipped (but no ironing facilities) Some have a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for your review and glad that we were able to accommodate your request of an early check in. We don't have ironing facilities in the room but we do have an ironing room and have spare irons and boards at reception whichever is more convenient for yourselves. We are happy you found breakfast adequate and its always complimentary at Holiday Inn Express. Many thanks Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was going to be in Cambridge for business, but I didn't want to spend the 300-400$ for being walking distance to my clients. I chose the HIE because whenever I do, they deliver. This hotel is on the edge of Cambridge. The general vicinity is a little skeevy but the hotel is nice. My room was a little small, the desk pulled out and then the chair bumped into the bed when working at it. That kind of small. However, there were a TON of outlets everywhere. That is always a huge plus. The internet bogged down to a snail's pace later at night, during the day it was pretty slow also. The breakfast was fine, typical stuff that is premade. I would definitely stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJDrZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for writing a review and happy that you had a good nights sleep! We are glad that when your next in the area you will choose to use ourselves again. Many thanks Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here 18th April this year for a business trip, was expecting bog standard service, basic rooms and generally unexcited about the hotel itself!

HOWEVER.....

It's a holiday inn express, so do not expect the luxury provided by boutique, 5* etc... because it is not this, nor is it trying to be. It is however a very good hotel, plenty of parking which is free of charge, 10 mins cab ride from Cambridge centre, situated in a modern business park development and I was generally really impressed.

STAFF
We were met by Marius who was beyond helpful, lovely guy checked us in, very kindly returned my coffee flask to my room where i'd left it in the bar, had a nice chat with us in the evening at the bar and generally had excellent customer service skills.

HOTEL MAIN AREA
nice looking, TV with news in the main bar and breakfast area, bar had a good selection of drinks and served quickly, nice lounge area to sit in and have a drink.

BREAKFAST
Buffet style, sausage, egg, toast, jams, pastries, fruit etc... no complaints.

ROOMS
immaculate, spacious, SUPER comfy bed and choice of 'hard or soft' pillows, temperature easily controlled, modern décor, flat screen TV with choice of channels and tea and coffee facilities (although only gripe would be to provide slightly more milk... unless you like coffee super strong! but as gripes go that is very very minor!) no noise disturbance from outside, even with the window open.

If you are after somewhere reasonably priced, without the 'frills' but with incredible customer service, clean and perfectly good rooms, then book.

Room Tip: One which faces the lake and greenery, as opposed to the car park. otherwise it looks as though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellyhamandtoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for giving a detailed review and we are very happy that you had a great stay. Its so rewarding to have team members mentioned for their customer service and Marius is always willing to go the extra mile for our guests. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and hope you are able to return to us in the near future.
Kind regard Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The holiday inn express is located in cherry Hinton cambridge and is just a short drive or taxi ride from the city centre. The hotel itself is in a quiet location and the standard of accommodation and service is first class. The rooms were well furnished, comfortable and clean. The included buffet breakfast was good. Nothing was too much trouble for Ali on reception. As he was booking us in he gave us a rundown of the facilities, local restaurants and places of interest. He booked us our restaurant and the taxi to take us there. Given the cost of this hotel the value was first class. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review and we are glad you had a great stay. Ali is very knowledgeable on the local area and he is great at giving out information to ensure guests have an enjoyable stay. We are glad you found us great value for money! We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,068 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,845 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
438 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $85 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, well-equipped bedrooms with comfort cooling and free onsite parking. A continental buffet breakfast with hot items is included for all guests and is served in our sociable Great Room. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free Wi-Fi. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing