We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Value for money”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed as a family of 5 at this hotel on the friday night of a bank holiday weekend. The reception staff were helpful and friendly and arranged earl check in for us as we were going to a wedding. It is a nice bright clean modern hotel in a quiet location. Rooms comfortable and well equipped. Bar and lounge good . Breakfast very good , help yourself buffet, Compared to city centre hotels it was far cheaper and only cost £10 for a taxi into Cambridge. Would highly reccomend for families and groups.

Room Tip: All rooms good value, comfortable and adequately equipped (but no ironing facilities) Some have a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and glad that we were able to accommodate your request of an early check in. We don't have ironing facilities in the room but we do have an ironing room and have spare irons and boards at reception whichever is more convenient for yourselves. We are happy you found breakfast adequate and its always complimentary at Holiday Inn Express. Many thanks Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    292
    142
    34
    18
See reviews for
134
203
28
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was going to be in Cambridge for business, but I didn't want to spend the 300-400$ for being walking distance to my clients. I chose the HIE because whenever I do, they deliver. This hotel is on the edge of Cambridge. The general vicinity is a little skeevy but the hotel is nice. My room was a little small, the desk pulled out and then the chair bumped into the bed when working at it. That kind of small. However, there were a TON of outlets everywhere. That is always a huge plus. The internet bogged down to a snail's pace later at night, during the day it was pretty slow also. The breakfast was fine, typical stuff that is premade. I would definitely stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJDrZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and happy that you had a good nights sleep! We are glad that when your next in the area you will choose to use ourselves again. Many thanks Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here 18th April this year for a business trip, was expecting bog standard service, basic rooms and generally unexcited about the hotel itself!

HOWEVER.....

It's a holiday inn express, so do not expect the luxury provided by boutique, 5* etc... because it is not this, nor is it trying to be. It is however a very good hotel, plenty of parking which is free of charge, 10 mins cab ride from Cambridge centre, situated in a modern business park development and I was generally really impressed.

STAFF
We were met by Marius who was beyond helpful, lovely guy checked us in, very kindly returned my coffee flask to my room where i'd left it in the bar, had a nice chat with us in the evening at the bar and generally had excellent customer service skills.

HOTEL MAIN AREA
nice looking, TV with news in the main bar and breakfast area, bar had a good selection of drinks and served quickly, nice lounge area to sit in and have a drink.

BREAKFAST
Buffet style, sausage, egg, toast, jams, pastries, fruit etc... no complaints.

ROOMS
immaculate, spacious, SUPER comfy bed and choice of 'hard or soft' pillows, temperature easily controlled, modern décor, flat screen TV with choice of channels and tea and coffee facilities (although only gripe would be to provide slightly more milk... unless you like coffee super strong! but as gripes go that is very very minor!) no noise disturbance from outside, even with the window open.

If you are after somewhere reasonably priced, without the 'frills' but with incredible customer service, clean and perfectly good rooms, then book.

Room Tip: One which faces the lake and greenery, as opposed to the car park. otherwise it looks as though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyhamandtoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for giving a detailed review and we are very happy that you had a great stay. Its so rewarding to have team members mentioned for their customer service and Marius is always willing to go the extra mile for our guests. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and hope you are able to return to us in the near future.
Kind regard Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The holiday inn express is located in cherry Hinton cambridge and is just a short drive or taxi ride from the city centre. The hotel itself is in a quiet location and the standard of accommodation and service is first class. The rooms were well furnished, comfortable and clean. The included buffet breakfast was good. Nothing was too much trouble for Ali on reception. As he was booking us in he gave us a rundown of the facilities, local restaurants and places of interest. He booked us our restaurant and the taxi to take us there. Given the cost of this hotel the value was first class. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review and we are glad you had a great stay. Ali is very knowledgeable on the local area and he is great at giving out information to ensure guests have an enjoyable stay. We are glad you found us great value for money! We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmyson82
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I've recently been working in Cambridge for 3 months and this has become my home from home as I been staying there mon-fri from end of jan until mid April. Firstly I'd say the rooms in the hotel are great, nothing extravagent but you wouldn't expect that from a holiday inn but you do get a nice bed, big tv, and a nice powerful shower and tea making facilities. This hotel is out of the centre of Cambridge so if you were staying for a night out you'd need a taxi but only a few quid between a few of you. At first I didn't overly like the hotel in the week, full of business men who think they are something there not and some if the staff were in my opinion rude and inconsistent. Over the weeks I got to know a couple of the staff Hannah and Carolyn were very good, pleasant and hard working and nice people to talk to when working away alone. They serve food here but the menu is limited and pricey but kind of expect that at a hotel. But to be fair the food was always nice but obvious it's just deep fried or microwave meals. Bar prices for beer not too bad considering £3.80 a pint of lager, be wary of ordering bottled cider thought, £5.30 a bottle! Like I said earlier this hotel out of town but there is a sainsbury nearby (3 min drive/10 min walk) and the village of cherry Hinton a 5 min drive away, never walked it but prob 25 min. Tesco express there, takeaways and a couple of pubs. I found a nice pub though just a 5 min walk away down past a lake that brought you out at mill road and a lovely local called the brook. Great pub good and reasonable 7-10 pound a meal. And all live sport. Anyway back to the hotel itself. All in all a nice comfortable hotel with adequate facilites. Breakfast in the morn was buffet and a choice of cereal, toast, fruit juices, coffees and hot choice of beans, scrambled egg and sausages which is included in your room price. Overall it's a nice hotel, a few staff let it down by being a bit rude but the others make up for it and work hard. I would recommend this place but not for staying there for 3 months constant but doubt many will.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and choosing to use ourselves for such a long length of time. I'm sorry to hear that you thought there were a few team members that were rude and your comments will be passed on to the team for review and likewise mentioning two team members for their friendliness is always nice to hear.
We hope your able to stay with us again in the near future.
Many thanks Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed overnight with my mother as we drove through Cambridge.

The hotel was clean and easy to find. The room was small, but comfortable. They made the best use of the space available. There were several options for breakfast, and the station stayed well-stocked all the way through the breakfast time. The staff was helpful with directions when we wanted to make our way into the city centre, which was an easy drive from the hotel. There was not a convenient walking path, so I might not suggest the hotel for those who don't have a car since it seemed bus fare was also fairly expensive. You could pay for wifi in your room or use it for free during certain hours in the lobby.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We are just 2 miles outside of Cambridge with a good bus route, a taxi is approximately £10 or walking will take you about 30-40 minutes, which is lovely to do on a sunny day!. We are glad you found the breakfast ample as its always complimentary at Holiday Inn Express. We hope you are able to visit us again soon.
Many thanks Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express because it seemed to be the best value for money within walking distance (around 30 mins) of The Junction, where we planned to see a stand-up comedian. Although we saw a Travelodge right next to The Junction when we arrived, it looked incredibly run down from the outside and I imagine I must have previously seen it's rating and avoided it altogether.

The guy on the desk was friendly and both check-in and check-out was swift. The rooms were obviously identical to every other Holiday Inn's but the bed was super comfy. Good job breakfast was until 11am, because I couldn't get out of it! And although we were right next to the airport, with a room the side the runway was on, I never heard a single plane.

The included breakfast consisted of all the essentials. Nothing more, nothing less. I tend to ignore all the pastries, cereals, yogurts, fruit and toast, but sausages, beans and scrambled eggs were enough to keep me happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitschyDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay and hopefully a lovely evening out? Its always nice to hear when team members are friendly and commented on for this. We are glad you had a good nights sleep and our complimentary breakfast met your expectations. We hope you will stay with us again when next visiting the area.
Kind regards Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
972 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,654 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, newly refurbished bedrooms with comfort cooling, free onsite parking, a daily complimentary continental breakfast with hot items served in our sociable Great Room and discounted local fitness centre rates. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free wireless Internet. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing