We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here 18th April this year for a business trip, was expecting bog standard service, basic rooms and generally unexcited about the hotel itself!

HOWEVER.....

It's a holiday inn express, so do not expect the luxury provided by boutique, 5* etc... because it is not this, nor is it trying to be. It is however a very good hotel, plenty of parking which is free of charge, 10 mins cab ride from Cambridge centre, situated in a modern business park development and I was generally really impressed.

STAFF
We were met by Marius who was beyond helpful, lovely guy checked us in, very kindly returned my coffee flask to my room where i'd left it in the bar, had a nice chat with us in the evening at the bar and generally had excellent customer service skills.

HOTEL MAIN AREA
nice looking, TV with news in the main bar and breakfast area, bar had a good selection of drinks and served quickly, nice lounge area to sit in and have a drink.

BREAKFAST
Buffet style, sausage, egg, toast, jams, pastries, fruit etc... no complaints.

ROOMS
immaculate, spacious, SUPER comfy bed and choice of 'hard or soft' pillows, temperature easily controlled, modern décor, flat screen TV with choice of channels and tea and coffee facilities (although only gripe would be to provide slightly more milk... unless you like coffee super strong! but as gripes go that is very very minor!) no noise disturbance from outside, even with the window open.

If you are after somewhere reasonably priced, without the 'frills' but with incredible customer service, clean and perfectly good rooms, then book.

Room Tip: One which faces the lake and greenery, as opposed to the car park. otherwise it looks as though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellyhamandtoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for giving a detailed review and we are very happy that you had a great stay. Its so rewarding to have team members mentioned for their customer service and Marius is always willing to go the extra mile for our guests. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and hope you are able to return to us in the near future.
Kind regard Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 671 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

The holiday inn express is located in cherry Hinton cambridge and is just a short drive or taxi ride from the city centre. The hotel itself is in a quiet location and the standard of accommodation and service is first class. The rooms were well furnished, comfortable and clean. The included buffet breakfast was good. Nothing was too much trouble for Ali on reception. As he was booking us in he gave us a rundown of the facilities, local restaurants and places of interest. He booked us our restaurant and the taxi to take us there. Given the cost of this hotel the value was first class. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review and we are glad you had a great stay. Ali is very knowledgeable on the local area and he is great at giving out information to ensure guests have an enjoyable stay. We are glad you found us great value for money! We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I've recently been working in Cambridge for 3 months and this has become my home from home as I been staying there mon-fri from end of jan until mid April. Firstly I'd say the rooms in the hotel are great, nothing extravagent but you wouldn't expect that from a holiday inn but you do get a nice bed, big tv, and a nice powerful shower and tea making facilities. This hotel is out of the centre of Cambridge so if you were staying for a night out you'd need a taxi but only a few quid between a few of you. At first I didn't overly like the hotel in the week, full of business men who think they are something there not and some if the staff were in my opinion rude and inconsistent. Over the weeks I got to know a couple of the staff Hannah and Carolyn were very good, pleasant and hard working and nice people to talk to when working away alone. They serve food here but the menu is limited and pricey but kind of expect that at a hotel. But to be fair the food was always nice but obvious it's just deep fried or microwave meals. Bar prices for beer not too bad considering £3.80 a pint of lager, be wary of ordering bottled cider thought, £5.30 a bottle! Like I said earlier this hotel out of town but there is a sainsbury nearby (3 min drive/10 min walk) and the village of cherry Hinton a 5 min drive away, never walked it but prob 25 min. Tesco express there, takeaways and a couple of pubs. I found a nice pub though just a 5 min walk away down past a lake that brought you out at mill road and a lovely local called the brook. Great pub good and reasonable 7-10 pound a meal. And all live sport. Anyway back to the hotel itself. All in all a nice comfortable hotel with adequate facilites. Breakfast in the morn was buffet and a choice of cereal, toast, fruit juices, coffees and hot choice of beans, scrambled egg and sausages which is included in your room price. Overall it's a nice hotel, a few staff let it down by being a bit rude but the others make up for it and work hard. I would recommend this place but not for staying there for 3 months constant but doubt many will.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for writing a review and choosing to use ourselves for such a long length of time. I'm sorry to hear that you thought there were a few team members that were rude and your comments will be passed on to the team for review and likewise mentioning two team members for their friendliness is always nice to hear.
We hope your able to stay with us again in the near future.
Many thanks Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed overnight with my mother as we drove through Cambridge.

The hotel was clean and easy to find. The room was small, but comfortable. They made the best use of the space available. There were several options for breakfast, and the station stayed well-stocked all the way through the breakfast time. The staff was helpful with directions when we wanted to make our way into the city centre, which was an easy drive from the hotel. There was not a convenient walking path, so I might not suggest the hotel for those who don't have a car since it seemed bus fare was also fairly expensive. You could pay for wifi in your room or use it for free during certain hours in the lobby.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We are just 2 miles outside of Cambridge with a good bus route, a taxi is approximately £10 or walking will take you about 30-40 minutes, which is lovely to do on a sunny day!. We are glad you found the breakfast ample as its always complimentary at Holiday Inn Express. We hope you are able to visit us again soon.
Many thanks Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express because it seemed to be the best value for money within walking distance (around 30 mins) of The Junction, where we planned to see a stand-up comedian. Although we saw a Travelodge right next to The Junction when we arrived, it looked incredibly run down from the outside and I imagine I must have previously seen it's rating and avoided it altogether.

The guy on the desk was friendly and both check-in and check-out was swift. The rooms were obviously identical to every other Holiday Inn's but the bed was super comfy. Good job breakfast was until 11am, because I couldn't get out of it! And although we were right next to the airport, with a room the side the runway was on, I never heard a single plane.

The included breakfast consisted of all the essentials. Nothing more, nothing less. I tend to ignore all the pastries, cereals, yogurts, fruit and toast, but sausages, beans and scrambled eggs were enough to keep me happy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitschyDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay and hopefully a lovely evening out? Its always nice to hear when team members are friendly and commented on for this. We are glad you had a good nights sleep and our complimentary breakfast met your expectations. We hope you will stay with us again when next visiting the area.
Kind regards Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights on weekend with my partner and 2 children. check in was smooth with very friendly staff. room was on the smallish size but the chlidrens sofa bed was out and made up. breakfast was good with a small selection of hot food ie beans scrambled egg and sausage, so if they were cooking sausage then surely whacking a bit of bacon in at the same time would be no problem. hotel clean and i would stay again if down that end

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. Its always pleasing to hear when guests find the team welcoming. We have taken your feedback with regards to our complimentary breakfast offering on board and we will use your comment when reviewing breakfast. We hope you and your family stay with us in the near future. Kind regards Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. The welcome and assitance from Ali on reception could not have been better. We eat in on the first night and the food was a pleasant surprise, and good value.

The room was the usual Holiday Inn standard - excellent.

The Breakfast was quick and a good choice on a help yourself basis.

The location meant a short walk to an excellent bus service to the City centre - worth getting a day pass and easy to get back too.

On the Saturday night we had a taxi back and that cost only £9.00.

Parking at the hotel was easy and free.

The only negative was the Wifi was poor and did not work in the bedroom, but Ali said they were due to fix that next month.

If we were going back to Cambridge we would defiantely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MancsJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments and most importantly that you had a great stay. Its always nice to have team members mentioned for their customer service and friendliness and Ali will be rewarded accordingly. We hope you are are able to return to us in the near future.
Kind regards Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,094 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $69 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, well-equipped bedrooms with comfort cooling and free onsite parking. A continental buffet breakfast with hot items is included for all guests and is served in our sociable Great Room. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free Wi-Fi. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing