We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Felix
Nearby Hotels
$242
$202
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$174
$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$148
$124
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$212
$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$244
$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$108
$90
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
$168
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveler rating
490
436
196
107
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
436
196
107
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgraffiti restaurantwhite company toiletrieslovely hoteljunior suitecity centreunderfloor heatingmini barfresh milkbath and showercontinental breakfastfull englishreception staffthe ground floorquiet locationenjoyable stayplenty of parkingfree parking
Filter
Updating list...
741 - 746 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I would not recommend that you go to this hotel. It is not cheap and the breakfast (if you can call it so) is extra. The service is very poor but this is all down to poor management. We complained and an offer was made to take off the price of the bacon. The manageress actually argued with us! I could go on but you get the gist. The arrogant receptionist finished off our stay! I had the impression that no one really gives a dam. I wrote to complain but as yet have not received a reply.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryr803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your recent review. Having checked your reservation, you booked on a room only basis, i.e. no breakfast included. This was confirmed to you at the time of booking and the cost of breakfast was indicated in the event that you wished to change your mind, which you did. You mention that the cost of your room was not cheap. You booked on our Friday Special rate and paid £85 for a room in a four star boutique hotel which I believe represents incredibly good value for money, especially for a Cambridge Hotel. You say that our General Manager argued with you, however this was not in the least intentional. She was merely trying to resolve the situation regarding your breakfast and I do apologise that the bacon was not as crispy as you had requested. You also say that the receptionist on duty was 'arrogant'. This particular receptionist is in fact one of the most experienced, delightful, polite and pleasant receptionists that this hotel has the pleasure of employing and she is a real credit to us. I am particularly aggrieved to hear that you feel that the team working here at Hotel Felix 'do not give a damn'. Customer service is what we whole-heartedly believe in and deliver to a high standard. I am just so sorry that you did not appreciate it. Your mother emailed the hotel on the 19th April outlining her concerns and was responded to by our General Manager on the 22nd April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I don't know what it is about the Felix. It could be fantastic. It never quite is. Yesterday we popped in for an impromptu celebration lunch. The decor is lovely and the Easter display on the bar liked fab. For once the service was not bad. But the food was shameful. Reheated Thai curry that looked and tasted like it was left over from the day before. Right down to the pile of dry reheated rice. Too taken aback to complain at the time - it was just so sub par. Something is amiss at this hotel. Don't know quite what it is. But it never manages to deliver on all fronts.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

It was very sad to read your recent review and I sorry that your celebration lunch was disappointing. I have shared your comments with our Head Chef. Whilst I apologise profusely that your experience was not more enjoyable, I would add that Graffiti is an award-winning two rosette restaurant. As such, everything that is served to guests including the items on our Café Bar Menu is cooked from fresh and is certainly not re-heated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We'd booked a table for eight to celebrate father's 90th birthday. He'd been here once before and said how lovely it was, so we thought it would be a treat to bring him back. However, despite having booked, we had to wait over 45 minutes for our teas, and even then they did not all arrive at the same time. Cakes arrived first (why?) and then half of us had our sandwiches ten minutes later while the other half were keep waiting. Eventually father complained and sandwiches miraculously appeared, by which time the drinks were cold. They were replaced when we asked someone to do so. My husband asked for hot water but nothing happened. After a while a waitress appeared and husband again requested hot water, this time his request was heard. After that, nobody came to do any sort of satisfaction check. Father said that he later heard the manager talking to the staff, telling them that the customer is the most important feature of the job...was all that for his benefit?
Sandwiches were lovely but in short supply. Cakes were goodish, although scones disintegrated on contact with knife, and there was not enough jam or cream. Crockery and cutlery spotlessly clean, as were the linen napkins
As we left, my sister was given an apology from same manager, but really at these prices we were disappointed at such sloppy service and will not be returning or recommending the afternoon tea to our friends. What a pity. We had driven all the way from Devon (where they know a thing or two about afternoon tea) and had been looking forward to this special occasion for some time
Grounds were lovely. Shame we were let down by what appeared to be lack of co-ordinated attention to detail

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandY96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

I am very sorry indeed to learn that you were disappointed with your recent experience of afternoon tea, particularly in light of the fact that it was in celebration of such a special occasion. The matter has been dealt with directly by our General Manager and we look forward to making amends when you see you again next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very nice hotel situated at some distance from the centre, and a lot of building works roundabout but nonetheless high quality rooms and great food. A little impersonal feeling, and you don't see many staff, but I don't personally mind that. Very comfortable stay

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank ZArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Hotel Felix is situated less than ten minutes' drive from the city centre, so not too far really. Indeed, there is a new University of Cambridge development being built just off the main road into Cambridge, but this does not in any way affect the hotel and the tranquil setting for which we are known and loved. I am so sorry that you feel that the hotel is a little impersonal. We are normally associated with warmth, friendliness and for offering a personal and efficient service. I do apologise if this wasn't the case during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Such a lovely hotel,mega friendly staff,enjoyed every minute of our stay and Cambridge is such a lovely place,it was only a two day stay in Cambridge but I'd love to go back soon :) The restaurant is a real treat too :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Budapest-York82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

What a lovely review - thank you so much! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Felix in the future, perhaps for a longer stay so that you can explore more of Cambridge.Do be sure to check our website for our special seasonal promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews