We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mix of Old and Modern”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuxton Kent
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Mix of Old and Modern”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here on Monday night. The Hotel has an interesting history and they have combined the old and new parts exceptionally well.

The staff were all very welcoming. The food was delicious but order extras with the main course if you like a more substantial meal - portions very "nouvelle cuisine". The continental breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit nicely prepared, delicious home-made muesli, porridge to order if you wanted it. Lovely toast (not the thin tasteless bread you get at many hotels), croissants and great coffee.

Our room overlooked the gardens and was really quiet. There was no air conditioning but there was a fan in our room.

Getting into Cambridge centre was really easy and we enjoyed the Punting experience we booked with the hotel in advance.

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Felix. The main part of the hotel comprises a beautiful Victorian villa, which was built in 1852 as the family home of a surgeon who worked at Addenbrooke's Hospital. It's lovely to hear that you approve of the way in which the hotel has been designed - a fusion of the old with the new. Thank you also for the lovely feedback about the food that we served in Graffiti Restaurant, which I have shared with our Head Chef and his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    397
    179
    95
    46
See reviews for
183
558
25
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Canfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Close enough to city 5 min cab journey, nice gardens, great restaurant and quality food, fantastic cocktails!! Jodie and Mark are superstars. All staff really attentive and helpful cant fault anything about anyone from reception to restaurant

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and that everything was faultless. I am delighted to hear this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Went for a bit of a birthday treat - a couple of days shopping eating and drinking in Cambridge. Stayed at Hotel Felix - good location, attractive building. Room nice and in general clean. The place was let down by poor service and attention to detail in the restaurant. Having lunch in Cambridge we opted for a light snack in the evening at the hotel. They had run out of smoked salmon and also tomato ketchup (vital for chips). These things happen - there was a wedding on so the place was busy. However in the morning at breakfast, my friend ordered a bacon sandwich but still no tomato ketchup and - also still not smoked salmon. Buffet table nearly empty. Scrambled eggs arrived cold and had to ask 3 times for butter and jam for toast. Queued for checkout as only one member of staff on at checkout time. Nice hotel let own by average service.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rutlandkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Felix for your special birthday treat, but am so sorry that your stay was slightly tarnished. We are proud of our reputation for providing excellent and friendly service and it is rare that we receive any complaints in this respect. I have spoken to our Reception Manager who has confirmed that two members of staff were working on Reception on Sunday morning, one only leaving to take her break at 11.30am Unfortunately, we ran out of smoked salmon on Saturday evening. We had a lot of guests arriving for afternoon tea and many people had not booked. Therefore our stock was exhausted due to the amount of smoked salmon sandwiches that had to be made. I also apologise for the fact that we ran out of ketchup. Our dry store is always stocked adequately and the new jar may have been tucked away at the back. I have spoken to our Restaurant Manager and he recalls looking after you and taking your breakfast order. He said that you cancelled your cooked breakfast order and that you would not have been served scrambled eggs in light of this. When the hotel is full, breakfast is a busy period and requests had been made to stock the buffet, but unfortunately it was not replenished as quickly as we would have hoped to meet the demand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for Business, and it was an absolutely gorgeous property! It's an old English manor house that has had some additions to it, but the garden and the patio for dining are wonderful.

If you are staying in the summertime, as I did, please be advised that there is no air conditioning in most of the rooms, and ventilation is a bit spotty.

The wireless access is ok at best -- it tended to drop out at times, and requires a different username and password (available for free at the front desk) for each device that you connect.

The breakfast (included in the room) was nice -- fruit, cereal, and pastries. The add-ons for breakfast were wonderful, including french toast and bacon.

One last thing to consider is that this is NOT a walking hotel -- it is in the outskirts of Cambridge, and is not an easy walk into town. You will need to get into town somehow if that's what you're staying for.

By the way, if you're not an early riser or go to bed early, avoid Room 75! It's right on the corner of the property, and delivery lorries start going by around 4:30-5am. In addition, loud guests walk and drive by this room (the room is about 3 feet from the main road around the hotel!) at all hours of the day and night.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 75 -- Vehicle Noise is very bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewTipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your kind words about Hotel Felix. During the Summer, it's wonderful to be able to dine al fresco on the Terrace or to simply enjoy a drink overlooking the garden.

With regard to air conditioning, this was installed in some of our bedrooms earlier this year. Phase two will be completed in 2014. WiFi is not usually a problem, however I have shared your comments with our General Manager.

Hotel Felix is a five minute drive from the city centre. We offer our guests ample free parking. If they wish to leave the car at the hotel and avoid parking fees in town, they can take a taxi, which generally cost about £8, or catch a bus which stops at the top of the road leading to the hotel. Park and Ride is also an option.

I am sorry that you were so rudely awoken by the delivery man. We do ask them to be as quiet as they can. Guests usually comment on how wonderfully quiet our bedrooms are. Do mention this issue to our Reception team next time you come and stay and we will ensure that a super quiet room is allocated to you.

Incidentally, the main road that you refer to is actually our drive. Hotel Felix is well set back from the main Huntingdon Road which leads into Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday night a couple of weeks ago.

The Positives:
- The room was nice, clean, and the bed comfy.
- The rooms were nicely laid out around a central courtyard
- The bar has a nice outside area where you can enjoy a few drinks or afternoon tea in the sun (weather permitting!)

The Negatives
- The bathroom was a bit on the small side, and not the most luxurious for a top hotel. We also had a room overlooking an internal drive - and were woken up in the morning by a van revving its engine - i would advise requesting a room NOT near any of the internal drives.
- Had a few drinks in the bar and services was incredibly slow and painful. NOT the barmans fault I might add, he seemed a very nice young chap and was very apologetic but he was left on his own for several hours when the bar was full
- Paid "rack rate" which was around £180 which having stayed here, I feel is quite expensive for what the hotel is actually delivering

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hotel Felix. Whilst I am delighted that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, I am so sorry to hear that one or two things spoilt your overall experience. Hotel Felix is a boutique, four star hotel and the service that we provide and prices that we offer reflect this accolade. I do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We did the Sunday night special deal. £130 spent in the restaurant gets a double room for free. The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming as were all the staff we met. We pre bought tickets from reception for a punting trip, which worked out cheaper than paying at the kiosk on the river.The room was clean, comfy and well laid out. Tea and coffee available in the room as were cosy bath robes. The big plus point was the delicious food in the restaurant - first class food. Cambridge is a wonderful city and Hotel Felix is just a 20 min walk from the centre, so a fabulous location. We'll definately go back to this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseekerColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I am delighted that you took advantage of our Felix is Free offer. It has been very popular and as you say, enables guests to enjoy a wonderful dinner in Graffiti Restaurant and not pay a penny for their bedroom! www.hotelfelix.co.uk/special-offers I'm glad that you also took advantage of the discounted punting rates that we offer our guests. What better way to see the iconic and historic Backs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Following a fabulous stay at this hotel around 18 months ago my partner and I had high expectations. Unfortunately things have deteriorated significantly over that time period. The only positive points were the air conditioning and comfortable bed. But so many negatives! Our room was located near the toilets and lifts on the first floor which were a constant source of noise. The bathroom sink looked like it needed some attention from the cleaning staff. Breakfast was highly disorganised. Poor service and small portions at a premium price. A couple sitting nearby at breakfast received even worse service than us - a cooked breakfast arrived for one of them with nothing for the other person (he'd only ordered beans on toast, which then arrived a full 20 mins later by which time his partner had long finished eating!).
Very disappointing. So much potential but I feel standards have slipped.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry indeed to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and that the only positive points were the air conditioning and beds we do have many, many more!.

I have looked into the night of your stay and it seems that the hotel was full. Indeed the room that you were allocated was a standard Felix King which you booked via Booking.com. Had you booked directly with the hotel, our reception team may have been in a positiion to assist with a better rate, and thus a different room type. You mentioned that that the toilets and the lift to the first floor were noisy, however there were no events taking place in our function rooms on the first floor at that time. There are only four rooms allocated in this area and only guest staying in these rooms would have any reason to go up to the area in which they are situated. I therefore fail to understand why it would have been 'a constant source of noise'. I have spoken to our Head Housekeeper about the sink in your bathroom. She has confirmed that the grouting is a little stained, as it does tend to be after a while, and has arranged for our Maintenance Manager to replace the grouting. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

When the hotel is full, breakfast does take a little while since full English breakfast is always cooked to order. Our Restaurant Manager actually asked you at your table whether your breakfast was fine and you had no complaints. They couple sitting nearby to you were also looked after by our Restaurant Manager. Despite there being a misunderstanding, he actually managed to rectify the situation, refreshed their tea and coffee and they were happy. We always recommend to our guests that they raise any issues or concerns during their stay. This then gives us the opportunity to rectify the situation. It is such a shame that you enjoyed your first stay with us, but not your most recent one. We do hope that you will return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
888 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing