We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic, will certainly return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic, will certainly return”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We checked in on the 3rd June and found our room to be spacious and tastefully decorated, we even had a lovely view. The bathroom was glorious and large, a seperate bath and shower. I took many photos as am keen of us to have the same style at home! The shower was amazing, the complementary sanitary products were good quality and bathrobes were provided.

We really appreciated the attention to detail with providing fresh milk and a tea pot in the room along with good quality fresh coffee. There was plenty of storage space (hanging and drawers) as well as a safe. The room had a desk and chair and also a comfortable arm chair and foot stool.

We dined in the hotel restaurant on the 3rd and the head waiter was absolutely fantastic. He pre-empted our every need and was attentive and knowledgeable without being overbearing. We both commented on how he was by the far the best waiter we have ever encountered. The food was top notch, so much so that the second night we dined in town, but returned to the hotel to have dessert again in Graffitti. The choice at breakfast was again, top quality, as was the service.

There was a wedding taking place on the Saturday and we were worried that we would be disturbed by the noise from guests, but we didn't notice a thing.

We enjoyed the grounds and the peace and quiet they offered which was surprising given the location. Every member of staff we dealt with was courteous and friendly, which was lovely, I am so used to hotel staff being an extreme of either rude or professional and cold.

Since staying we have recommended Hotel Felix to family and friends and fully plan on returning at some point.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Felix! It's very rewarding to know that the small details are noticed: the fresh milk and the fluffy bath robes! Graeme, who you mention, is now our restaurant manager because, as you witnessed, he really is that good!! He was extremely chuffed when I passed on your comments and sends his thanks for your kind compliments. The terrace is perfect at this time of year and though we're only a 25 minute walk from the City our generous grounds offer a secluded and peaceful space to enjoy dining, afternoon tea or just drinks! We do hope you'll visit us again soon. Oh and good luck with the decorating (Hotel Felix's new website is due to go live very soon, complete with a photo gallery!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    378
    170
    90
    45
See reviews for
173
537
24
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The service was very good. The staff were confident, articulate and the head waiter saved us some money by recommending another wine choice!
The hotel is comfortable and the interior has a modern style (clean lines, etc).
We were lucky with the weather and had a drink before dinner on the terrace and breakfast on the terrace the next morning. The hotel does a continental and cooked breakfast (extra) but you really don't need the cooked as the continental is plenty with cereal, fruit, toast and croissants.
If I come back to Cambridge I would choose this hotel again.
You can sometimes agonise over which hotel to stay in when there is so much choice but I don't think you will be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomLibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfelix1, sales and marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Many thanks for your review. We're glad that the changeable summer weather worked in your favour and you were able to enjoy the terrace for both evening dining and breakfast. The tranquility offered by our large, sunny terrace and gardens is the huge bonus of not being directly in the City centre. Our restaurant staff are knowledgeable about both the food we serve and our wine list and it's good to know that this information is helpful to our customers. We took the decision not to include a cooked breakfast in the price of our rooms as we considered that many of our guests don't want to eat a large meal in the morning and that they'd feel that they were paying an increased bedroom price for an element that they didn't actually want. The continental breakfast is a comprehensive buffet that we hope can satisfy most breakfast tastes! We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The problem with England is everything is "Ye Olde". I've been there enough for the novelty to wear off and I look for some contemporary comfort and that's what I found at Hotel Felix. It is an old main building that has been completely updated with two modern wings added. The decor is contemporary and elegant. The service is excellent, the rooms large and the place is very quiet being far away from traffic. The Graffiti restaurant (see separate review) is excellent and worth a visit. 1 hour free internet is included in the room rate and so was continental breakfast. Unlike many hotels, the rate was quoted all inclusive had no extra taxes and surcharges.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikes_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for such a positive review. As you mention, Hotel Felix has, at its centre, a 19th Century Victorian Villa which whilst retaining all of its architectural features has been decorated in a contemporary style. An eclectic mix of modern art is displayed throughout the Hotel and plays a large part in defining the unique style of the Felix. The Graffiti has earnt a very good reputation since we opened 9 years ago providing fresh, Mediterranean influenced food and we're always pleased to hear that guests staying with us choose to dine with us too! We do hope to see you again when you're back in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Nice clean and comfortable hotel with competent and willing staff. Rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. A regular stop for me from now on.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmohandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Many thanks for your recent review. We are glad that you felt so comfortable at the Felix and our fabulous Housekeeping team are always thrilled when their hardwork is noted! See you again soon, we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This was my 3rd stay here, and as a couple we will keep returning. we've stayed in a few different rooms but most recently the penthouse, which was lovely and filled our needs, the bed was large and bedding was fab, the balcony is a nice touch with views of the beautifully landscaped gardens.
There is a new conservatory which adds a nice touch onto the hotel, a much needed extension to the bar. and a beautiful entrance onto the gardens.
Myself and my Husband recently got married here, we love it that much, and might I add ignore the odd (rare) snooty unhelpful bad review about this place, there honestly isnt a bad thing about it.
Armando was the Duty manager responsible for looking after us during our wedding and he was incredible, couldn't praise him enough, covered every need, and everybody had nice things to say about him, his fantastic professional side mixed with his witty sense of humour helped both myself and my partner have the most magical day of our lives! we were both genuinely upset when his shift finished.
I love this place, and will keep coming back and will always recommend it not only as a hotel but a superb restaurant.
The one thing I would say is that a cooked breakfast comes at an extra cost, but the continental is lovely also.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you, thank you! We're so glad that you chose Hotel Felix as your wedding venue and that you enjoyed your day. The addition of the Orangery came just in time for your special day and I'm so pleased that the finished product met with your approval! The Orangery has really enhanced the bar and offers a light and airy space to enjoy drinks or afternoon tea, looking over the gardens. Armando and the rest of the staff fed back reports of how smoothly your day had gone (Armando commented that you were the most relaxed and easy going bride he had every met!) and that your guests were a lovely, happy crowd. I do hope we will see you both back at the Felix again soon and that you're enjoying life as newlyweds! Best wishes from us all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtondc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

When you arrive at the hotel prepare for the worst , in the middle of a housing estate ,about as unromantic as possible, the service is below par clearly understaffed and the rooms tired , The location is poor ,we were only here as the hotel du vin was full. We did not try the food as the restaurant was empty.The only positive is the parking then you ll need your car to get away from this place. Hotel du vin we miss you.

Room Tip: The premier inn across the road much cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lightboxtwentytwenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
We do respect the fact that the Felix might not appeal to everyone. We hope that customers booking with us do so based on a location and choice of facilities that suit the purpose of their visit. That you had chosen centrally located Hotel du Vin as your first option unfortunately put us at a distinct disadvantage from the outset! We don't claim to be central but the city centre is walkable from the Hotel, there are regular buses, or a taxi will have you there in minutes. As a positive we're well located for motorway connections and offer free parking! We always hope that if the service we offer during your visit doesn't match your expectations that you will speak to us at the time and allow us the opportunity to try to resolve any unsatisfactory issues. It's such a shame that our popular restaurant didn't tempt you as I'm certain we might have redeemed ourselves if you'd tried our food for which we are regularly praised. We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Felix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is about 3 miles out of Cambridge. We often visit the city but have always syayed in the centre. We decided to try the Felix for a change. I can honestly say we will never go anywhere else from now on. It was an absolute breath of fresh air. Gloriously elegant but incredibly friendly and unstuffy. One of the most relaxing hotel visits we have ever made. The food was absolutely delicious without being too complicated or pretentious. Just great all round

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alderney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Well, I hardly know what to say! Thank you so much for taking the trouble to post your review and thank you again for such thoughtful compliments! As you mention, we are not in the most central location (though only a 5 minute bus ride or 25 minute walk to the centre) but our location does come with its benefits! Plenty of free parking and some well earned tranquility after the bustle of the City! As an independent hotel we do take pride in the personal service that we offer. It's so flattering for our staff to know that their efforts are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Felix again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,217 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,654 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing