We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful evening”
Review of The Six Bells

The Six Bells
Ranked #152 of 767 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Six Bells is a traditional local pub off Mill Road which has been here for over a century. The pub is deceptively large with the two wood panelled front bars leading onto a conservatory with comfy sofas, and a pool room. At the rear there is a patio garden. We have a pool table, dartboard and a great jukebox. Free wireless broadband access. We serve five real ales, a choice of lagers, Guinness and cider as well as wines, spirits and soft drinks. Home cooked food is served every day from 12pm to 9pm, except on Sundays when our Roast Lunch is served from 12pm to 5pm. Sandwiches available until 11pm. We have a Quiz Night every Monday from 9pm and Live Music every Saturday night. We also host an Open Mic on alternate Sundays from 5pm. We also provide a meetng place for various community groups and are happy to cater for parties. Please be aware we do not accept credit/debit cards.
Reviewed February 3, 2018

Thanks Eileen for welcoming us to your lovely pub, we had a great night - interesting beer, good food, friendly locals and amazing musicians.

If the barman could smile and welcome customers as well that would be lovely :-) (we may not have stuck around if we had just popped in for a drink).

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank happyseasidegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 75 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2017

Whenever I visit Cambridge, the Six Bells pub is always on my priority list. It is a lovely traditional pub with welcoming friendly atmosphere and cosy vibes. Beers are very good, the selection is great. But the highlight of the experience is the food. Their steak is legendary, grilled to perfection and served with chips, grilled mushrooms and tomatoes. The pub also runs a weekly quiz (serving homemade chips) and if lucky you can get a quick tip from the landlord across the tilt, who happens to know everything there is to know about everything.

I can really recommend the place and I can’t wait to go there again myself.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank timozupancic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Visited the Six Bells for the first time today. We were drawn in by the music of the fabulous 'Martinis' who were perfect to listen to while we ate a splendid Sunday roast dinner of pork with crackling and Yorkshire pudding, which was brought to out table with happy smiles.
A really nice little pub with good cask ale selection and I believe a lot of different whisky's, lots of seats and tables and radiators to cuddle when cold, but most of all a very friendly atmosphere! We shall certainly go again while visiting Cambridge.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SueS927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

I found this pub by searching Trip Advisor. We wanted to book somewhere with good food but reasonably priced. This was the right place. The food was excellent, our plates were full and we were offered more of any veg etc. Friendly staff and not busy on the Sunday that we visited. My son is at university in Cambridge so we walked from his place rather than search for parking. This was a good move and we enjoyed the walk through town.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank glasspainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017

I visited the Six Bells for Sunday Lunch with a friend. There was a choice of a couple of meats and a vegetarian option. Everything was excellent, and we were offered extra helpings on top of the already generous portions of meat, five vegetables, crispy roast potatoes and yorkshire puddings. At £8.95 this is probably the best value Sunday Lunch in Cambridge. The beer was tasty seemed well kept too.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank gns24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Six Bells also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Six Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing