We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely curry. Unpleasant naan bread.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inder's Kitchen

Inder's Kitchen
Ranked #392 of 684 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Inder's Kitchen specialises in home and office delivery of fine Indian food to all areas of Cambridge and the immediate surrounding villages. Catering services for private and corporate events of all sizes and budgets are also provided.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely curry. Unpleasant naan bread.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had a takeaway for two. A friendly member of staff took the order (although insisted on complaining to me repeatedly about the computer being down), and it came on time. Just under £30 for 2 curries, Sag aloo, one boiled rice, one cauliflower pakora, and one naan.

Lovely curries. Both nice and spicy, with tasty meat, and not at all greasy or swimming in ghee, as can often happen. We both really enjoyed them. Nicest takeaway curries we've had for a while. The pakora was nice, with a spicy dip.

BUT, the naan breads were awful. So bad I didn't eat mine. Doughy, too thick, not crispy, undercooked, and tasteless. I guess it didn't help that they are "tawa" naans, rather than those cooked in a proper oven, which we're used to, and much prefer. I wouldn't order them again.

Probably £8-£10 more than we'd pay elsewhere, where we generally have a takeaway for just over £20.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RomseyRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    7
    6
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Authentic and fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were blown away by the excellent food we received from this place, we thought it might be good but didn't expect to receive the best Indian food outside of India from a takeaway.

What made it good? It was freshly cooked, the ingredients were of an excellent quality (tender meat, curry leaves etc) it tasted amazing. It had obviously been lovingly prepared and this is a refreshing change from the tasteless brown slop we've become accustomed to from British Indian restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JasperJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“world class well-judged food for devliery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place is a godsend. the food is locally sourced, of the highest quality and incredibly delicious. We have ordered from Inders for some time and it is a delight. The black dahl, smoked aubergine hash, everything they do with lamb and those succulent chicken thighs - just incredible. You pay for quality, so it's not cheap, but there is 20% off orders delivered early in the evening and they have instituted a rewards programme for frequent ordering. Note - this is not a restaurant. They deliver. Note: Inder is a real person who gives back to the community and is a talented chef. She reaches into her roots to bring great food to Cambridge and I think she's a treasure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Messner2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian takeaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Being an Indian myself I love my curry and Inder's Kitchen has never disappointed. They are really different from all the other so called "Indian" takeaways. The cuisine is authentic, the portions are good and service excellent. My food always gets delivered on time and piping hot. I do love their early bird discounts. Would love to try out their seasonal special menus in future as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SandiC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rubbish expensive food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Wow, terrible! Like a previous review they forgot the naan, there was very little sauce nor meat in the rogan, less on the chicken dish and gallons on the crab starter! Coulda been any slimy meat rather than crab. The poppadoms were worse than out of a packet, no taste at all.
They brought the nan 40 mins after first delivery ( live 10 mins from their gaff) so the rest of the meal was ruined in the oven on a low temp. Naan tasted like a school dinner effort from the 80's
Better still more expensive than any takeaway I have ever bought!
Not even going to bother emailing as the previous review...
Rip off

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damo571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Owner at Inder's Kitchen, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi there. We are very sorry that we made a mistake with your order in missing the breads out. The fact that you then had to keep your meal hot for such a long period of time will of course have dried everything out and ruined the quality. Please do contact us directly using the contact form on our website or of course call us on 01223 211 333. We would really like to put this right for you and look forward to being able to do so. With regards to your reference to a previous review, we did in fact respond to the customer but admittedly took almost 24 hours to do so. We hope to hear from you soon. Best wishes, Inder and Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inder's Kitchen also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Inder's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing