We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”
Review of Duke House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duke House
Ranked #5 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We really, really like the Duke House. Liz & company were great. The room was very nice, and most importantly for me, the bed was super comfortable. I'd recommend the Duke House BB to anybody...! Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
So glad you like d it here and were comfortable. Many thanks for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
148
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Once again, Liz and Rob were very welcoming and made myself and my girlfriend's stay very enjoyable. We stayed in the 'Gloucester' room which was exquisite in decoration and very well maintained with a beautiful en suite bathroom.

I said it last time and I shall say it again, I need to book a longer stay! Looking forward to my next trip to Duke House.

Thank you Liz and Rob :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
So glad your second visit didn't disappoint. Do come for a longer visit next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous location and B&B, Liz, Rob and Flo are very welcoming and the B&B is spotless and very nicely decorated. The breakfast is very nice and my boyfriend and I had a lovely weekend break away. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie003071989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendation.I do hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had a romantic weekend break in Duke House staying in the Cambridge suite and we couldn't fault it one bit! The room had everything we needed including a slice of home made chocolate cake on arrival and a telescope to look out at the stars from our private balcony. The room came with robes and branded toiletries which added an extra special touch. The bathrooms was a fantastic feature with an enormous both and shower!

Liz was a lovely host and made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay including recommending bars and restuarants and providing us with maps. She even let us park in her driveway free of charge.

The breakfast was absolutely outstanding - one of the most delicious breakfasts I have ever had. Liz made the hot breakfast to order and there was a huge selection of home made jams, juices and breads.

The location is also extremely ideal as only a 5 minute walk into the town centre where there is an array of shops, restaurants, bars and the local theatre (corn exchange) which was the reason for our visit.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StagJesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for the best breakfast accolade! I am delighted you enjoyed it and your stay in Cambridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

On a quiet street, the Duke House has a simple entrance. It was a grey and misty day when we were dropped off by the taxi driver. Inside the house was cosy and festive with a beautiful fragrant Christmas tree in an elegant lounge. We were welcomed by Liz, who showed me to my room. My room was wonderful, spacious and pretty in pale colours. The room had a lovely shower room with a dressing area with capacious wardrobe. There was a lovely table of goodies, an array of delicious teas and coffee and chocolate with elegant avoca mug.
It was a short walk across Christ's Pieces for a great dinner in Cambridge at the Chop House was followed by a peaceful night's sleep.
Breakfast was excellent and other guests were ( as is usually the case in Sawday places) really interesting and lovely.
Really perfect place to stay with the nicest keyrings ever!

Room Tip: They are all lovely and the balcony is even nicer than it looks in the photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. So glad you like the key rings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here in November for my birthday so we could go and hear the King's College choir. A great location - and wonderful hospitality. We had the Cambridge room which has its own balcony and a little sitting area although there is a lovely sitting room downstairs with books and games etc. Tea and fruit cake - from one of Cambridge's best cake shops - was available in the room.
You can walk to all the major sights - and a real bonus in the city is the free car parking at the back of the house.
Breakfast is another treat with produce sourced from local shops and suppliers. Will definitely recommend this. It's not cheap but then the hotels in Cambridge are not either.

Room Tip: The Cambridge has its own private balcony which would be great in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikki0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. The Cambridge does come into its own in the Spring and Summer when you can sit out with a glass of wine and enjoy the view over City rooftops and gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We've recently enjoyed a thoroughly luxurious and relaxing stay at Duke House. Having stayed in Cambridge before, in one of the below average chain hotels, this beautiful property blows their competition out of the water!

Liz's style, taste and attention to detail is second to none. The guest sitting room was really welcomed especially after a long day exploring in the cold. Our room, the Wellington, decorated to the highest standard has a lovely comfy bed, an array of magazines to sift through and a huge bathroom with a fantastic shower.

Breakfast was filled with local, home cooked produce which really makes the difference (great bacon!) and Liz goes above and beyond to remember your personal preferences - the sign of an excellent host!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the close proximity to all that Cambridge has to offer. We genuinely wouldn't stay anywhere else now in Cambridge and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you! I will pass your bacon comments onto our wonderful award winning bacon and sausage supplier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke House

Property: Duke House
Address: 1 Victoria Street, Cambridge CB1 1JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duke House is a beautiful, boutique B&B in the heart of Cambridge. We opened our doors in April 2012. Nestling alongside Christ's Pieces green, we are just minutes' away from all the city's attractions and colleges. Five tastefully designed en-suite rooms and a self catering apartment, personal service and our central location will ensure your visit is as enjoyable as possible. Whether visiting Cambridge for business or pleasure, everything at Duke House is designed to ensure you are "at one", with yourself and your surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing