We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in Central Cambridge”
Review of Duke House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duke House
Ranked #5 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value in Central Cambridge”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

On this return visit to Duke House I stayed in The Wellington. Friends attending the same re-union who stayed in a pokey 4* hotel room were extremely jealous when they saw my room and realised it was more than half their B&B rate! Parking in Cambridge is an expensive nightmare so being able to park right in the centre for free relieves all the stress and makes this property even greater value. Great decor, warm welcome, comfy bed, quiet central location and a superb breakfast that just keeps on coming are all reason enough to look forward to my next visit. Duke House really is the only place worth staying if you're looking for quality and value in the centre of Cambridge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
146
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a pleasant 1 night stay in this newish B and B, the decor was contemporary and all in pristine condition as were the bathrooms. For the price we paid I would expect a larger bedroom, headboards and somewhere other than the floor for a suitcase, fussy maybe but this is a highly priced B and B. Breakfast was tasty but lacked choice. We were lucky in that we could park on site and Liz kindly let us do that before official 4pm check in time. It was a wintry day and the room was decidedly chilly on arrival but it was warm enough later on. There was a lounge but this was cool and dim so rather gave the impression to be observed but not used!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellwood_lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a lovely two night stay at Duke House. The location is superb and Liz is wonderfully helpful. One caveat : the stair to the top floor is narrow and steep; if you are out of shape or have a large or heavy bag, ask for a second floor room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Staying at Duke House brought back to mind why we prefer b&b over hotel accommodation - it's like staying with really hospitable friends who think nothing of offering you the run of their house. Tasteful, very individual set-up, and great history as well – fancy staying in the house the Duke of Gloucester spent his student years!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HHenrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We picked this hotel for a special occasion and we were not disappointed in any way. The hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful and made our stay very pleasurable. Beautifully and tastefully renovated hotel with lots of extra touches which really made a difference. Great breakfast, perfect location, personal service - why would you pick a bland corporate hotel above this? We hope to return

Room Tip: The Cambridge room was perfect for our family of 3 as it offered extra privacy in the small annexe r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawrie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in the Wellington for two nights to celebrate our anniversary. I am exceptionally picky and really did my research prior to booking our short break. There was no doubt that Duke House was the one for us - and, I'm delighted to say, it lived up to my very high expectations! The house is simply beautiful. You can tell Liz used to be a designer, she certainly has the eye for it. The attention to detail is fabulous, the fabrics are lovely, the bed was so comfortable...everything was splendid. We stayed almost a week ago now and I still feel sad that we had to leave! Cambridge is a real treat as well - a wonderful place to visit and a wonderful place to stay. Liz, I cannot wait to return already! Duke House is a beautiful gem. Ally and Elwyn

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed one night in this tranquil house. The furnishing is modern English with warm but no-too-much patterns-and-cluttered feel. The room en suit is spacious, the beds are perfect to have a very good sleep and to read books with big bed-cushions on my back. Everything is thought through for the smooth operation. On the tray of teas and coffee there was a slice of cake to welcome us, a small jug of milk brought in later - one sees the touch of Liz everywhere. When we had emailed Liz for a possibility to be on her wait-list, she was efficient and kind thus I had a very good feel about Duke House, which was confirmed by our stay and this house will be my only place to stay in Cambridge. Not mention the superb breakfast!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Happychap2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke House

Property: Duke House
Address: 1 Victoria Street, Cambridge CB1 1JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duke House is a beautiful, boutique B&B in the heart of Cambridge. We opened our doors in April 2012. Nestling alongside Christ's Pieces green, we are just minutes' away from all the city's attractions and colleges. Five tastefully designed en-suite rooms and a self catering apartment, personal service and our central location will ensure your visit is as enjoyable as possible. Whether visiting Cambridge for business or pleasure, everything at Duke House is designed to ensure you are "at one", with yourself and your surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing