We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indigo cafe

Indigo cafe
Ranked #3 of 37 Coffee & Tea in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: We're a tiny, independent coffee house in central Cambridge, we serve freshly prepared sandwiches, ciabattas, bagels, salads and soups. Because we make food to order, you can get an overfilled ciabatta with bacon, stilton, chutney and salad...or just a grated cheese sandwich with no crusts for your toddler. We also love coffee, and we have lots of different sized cups in which to sell it to you. We like to chat, and we especially like nice customers who don't mind sharing their table. We don't have wi-fi and we can't take cards, so bring some cash and come and say hello.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

If you want something healthy, homely, simple and affordable, go to Indigo. And the service is really good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jscott_989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    36
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

lovely little tiny cafe funny staff can sit for ages so long as you only use the word literally in ints correct way!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank fayd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I love this cafe it is tiny and perfectly formed! Lovely range of healthy wholesome food, soups and cake to die for. Lovely atmosphere

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoodsonSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely *little* cafe - not for the claustrophobic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

As others have said Indigo is very small. The three of us squeezed around a small table, and when (ex-Eastenders) actor Jamie Foreman came in to order lunch he said sorry for being so close to my son.

The three of us ordered different sandwiches and all enjoyed them, plus the fresh dressed salad that came with them.

If there had been more room I'd have given Indigo 5*. Not for the claustrophobic, but highly recommended otherwise.

Helpful?
Thank davethesuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food & Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Tiny cramped coffee shop café close to Cambridge Arts Theatre. Sitting inside and out - great when warmer! We lunched there recently - simple food, freshly prepared, with great coffee and very tempting cakes. Soup and baguettes - good to eat and reasonably prompt service. The soup especially was warming and spicy - and the menu extends to a wide range of simple dishes. Can feel a little cramped downstairs, but for an enjoyable and filling lunch in that area we would not go elsewhere - if seats were available. The atmosphere is great too - friendly and has the feel of "being in touch" with local goings on.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carrbrionkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo cafe also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Indigo cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing