We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sharp, clean and good value - hidden gem”
Review of Bengal Diner - CLOSED

Bengal Diner
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We'd never been here before and, as it's off the beaten track, it's not the kind if place you stumble across.
It was a Saturday evening but not busy and they accommodated 6 off us without booking.
The venue is exceptionally clean, the service attentive and the food was tasty.
It ranks as highly as pipasha in my view and is streets ahead of the dirty Bombay brasserie.
If you're in town it really is worth the extra effort to seek this place out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Logsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumell, Owner at Bengal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Many thanks for your comments, we hope to see you again soon in the Diner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 34 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

I am struggling understand how it has 5 trip adviser stars. Me and my girlfriend were the only guests throughout the whole time we were in there. The food was ok , nothing special at all , the beer was horrid and over priced. The staff were pleasant but I would expect nothing less really. The restaurant is situated in a very quiet part of town in a residential street , not what I expected.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumell, Owner at Bengal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

I am very sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience. We have had a change of our staff in the kitchen so if you do have an opportunity to come to the Diner, we would be very pleased to serve you and your girlfriend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

First time to this restaurant and I was very impressed. It is clean, modern and a welcome change from a lot of dated Indian restaurants. The menu is well set out and not too much choice but something for everyone. Well priced and really enjoyed the food. The owner is very friendly and will be visiting again soon. I would recommend this place to anyone thinking of having an Indian in Cambridge.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Seanyd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumell, Owner at Bengal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments, please do come again soon and we will try to alter the menu around to provide you with a dish that you would like. Our chef is very talented and is always happy to try out new dishes. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Have you tried THE BEST INDIAN IN TOWN?!!! BRILLIANT SERVICE, dined in for table for 4 and the food was exquisite, friendly warm atmosphere, menu completely different than any other Indian i've been in Cambridge. Would recommend lamb shank and as my friend was with me who's vegetarian, she ordered Diwali Handi and we had numerous side dishes which was to die for!! we'll be coming back bringing friends and family for Christmas, already booked !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daniaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumell, Owner at Bengal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, our team are always happy to try more exquisite tastes for you and your friends. Please do come and dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Bengal Diner is a fantastically under rated venue. The Diner has uncommonly good service; If you eat there a half dozen times, the staff will likey know you by name. For price and quality, the Bengal can't be beat south of east road. Eat in or take out, the food has that "comfort" quality that one craves in a good curry. I recomend this restaurant as a take-away for your speed-dial, and as family, date, small business function get together venue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AndyWillcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumell, Owner at Bengal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you so much Andy. It is always a pleasure to provide food for you whether it be a takeaway or when you dine in. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Diner also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing