We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!!!”

Zhonghua Traditional Snacks
Ranked #130 of 690 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“YUM!!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I love this place, its so quirky and delicious! We found it by chance when my sister moved to the centre of town, and go there for a takeaway most weekends. Its a tiny little cafe/restaurant where they serve traditional Asian dumplings, won tons and noodle bowls with a create your own dipping sauce of pulped garlic, vinegar, soy sauce and very very hot chilli oil. They have lots of meat options which I'm told are very nice, but for me the vegetarian egg and vegetable dumplings are the winner!

Please please pop in for a quick lunch or evening meal, I need this place to stay open as the dumplings are just perfect the afternoon after a heavy night of drinking!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R0P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    39
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best places to eat in Cambridge”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I go there at least once a week! It is run by the family and small, very unassuming with no fancy seating. The menu offers lots of choices dumplings and they are absolutely amazing!!!! If you love dumplings this place is an absolute must. Considering how incredible value for money is, this pace is like eating at home! Plus you can buy frozen dumpling from them to be boiled at home!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bb03Arab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great snacks!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Traditional Shanghai - style snacks (excellent pickled cucumbers) and dumplings. Very good bao.zi but not always available. If you ask, they'll let you know when it will be ready.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good - very Chinese!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Managed to park in front although the Grafton is close by.

Had beef noodle soup - £5 very good broth and crumbly beef.

A bun with peanuts for pud - very filling and jasmine tea.

Great value for £8.20

Will go again shortly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very authentic!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I am a Chinese and I know what good Chinese food should taste like. This is the closest you can get in Cambridge.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisBear_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zhonghua Traditional Snacks also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Zhonghua Traditional Snacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing