We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Punting at its best”
Review of The River Cam

The River Cam
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.67*
and up
Cambridge Tour from London Including a Walking Tour
Ranked #5 of 159 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
mumbai
Level Contributor
196 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Punting at its best”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

You have to experience self punting when in Cambridge. It costs about 15 pounds for 1 hour , and the punt can fit 5-6 people. Best way to see this majestic city. Maneuvering by ones self is tricky but u can learn quickly, its fun once u get the hang of it.
A must do .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank docviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,068
    463
    66
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Punting on the River Cam!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Loved it! Our guide was very informative and it was a lovely way to spend an hour :-) There are blankets and brollies available in case the weather isn't so good. Couple of nice pubs nearby to watch the world go by.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank k44durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Punting on the river”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went punting on the river. We rented for 1 hour to punt ourselves. Its trickier than it looks but great fun. If you have a student in your party they can get a half price deal. We had great views of the colleges from the river.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NicckM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Punting on the river”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great fun, watch others from the Mill pub and sit on the bridge with a cold drink and have a good laugh

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank steves_been
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect way to see Cambirdeg”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We live in Cambridge and every time we have someone visit we take them for a punt on the river, it never fails to please. Its a great way to get a view of the university and the punters are full of great stories (not always 100% accurate but still fun)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pquintana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Cam also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The River Cam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing