We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly an unusual experience!”

Bed and Breakfast at Fifty-One
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast at Fifty-One
Ranked #70 of 124 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2012

From the moment you walk in the door you have a set of rules to live by and if you like rules then this may be for you but not for me. The establishment was very clean and fresh but lacked any ambience at all. In Cambridge you hope for a place with character unfortunately this accommodation is set in a modern housing estate with a view of a business opposite. The rooms had an African theme, which was out of place. The landlady expected you to eat with the other guests whether you wanted to or not and said at 8am but we said we were on holiday so a compromise was sought. Nice small garden with friendly cats but the breakfast room had a sofa to sit on and but no guest sitting room. The landlady was rather officious on welcome and seemed to want our money before we had even stayed for an hour. She gave very useful information about where to eat in town and did try to make us feel at home by the end of the stay. It was overpriced and no cooked breakfast offered although advertised. The rooms were very clean but mattresses on beds should be renewed. Children welcome.

Room Tip: Room at the top with balcony would be the best choice but not suitable for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1811027Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I arrived from Australia, worn out and shattered as I was involved in an accident some 2 weeks earlier and was partly disabled. To our absolute delight this lovely lady Anna met us and was just so friendly and caring and made us feel most comfortable in this wonderful B&B. Anna is of course the owner and nothing was too much trouble to make our stay just perfect. We didn't feel like going out due to my condition and Anna cooked us a lovely evening meal. Our room was absolutely perfect with a huge king size bed and lovely modern bathroom. The breakfast the next morning was superb just what we wanted.
This is a beautiful B&B right close to all the action in Cambridge and it was an absolute pleasure to stay there. Thanks Anna. Congratulations on owning such a wonderful place to stay.
Michael Walpole from Australia

Room Tip: All rooms would be excellent as the location is in a very quiet area and knowing Anna the standard o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Cambridge is great for cycling. From the B&B we cycled alongside the river into town. Our room had a super-king-size-bed and a balcony. Quite neighborhood, friendly Landlady, great breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MundM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

If you're staying in Cambridge for a holiday, then the B&B itself is nice - rooms are spacious and clean. However, it is very overpriced. It's not located near the University, so be prepared for a 20 min. walk if you're visiting for academic purposes. Breakfast was a bit lackluster as well. The cats are nice, though!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weltheow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Lovely place near centre of Cambridge with 20 min walk of city centre via the river side! Lovley room with cosey furnishings and modern feel. Great host Anne, who is really friendly and makes your stay a nice one! Great place!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We first selected Fifty-One St. Andrews Road when attending a concert in Cambridge. This looked close to the centre with private parking and was reasonably priced. We also wanted somewhere with more character than many of the bed and breakfast and hotels in the area.
We were not disappointed. The room was attractivily decorated with a very good bathroom and shower. Anna was very friendly and gave us information about the concert venue and where to eat. Breakfast was very good. We have now visited Cambridge on three further occasions and always return here as we like it so much.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here as a celebration visit for my birthday, the picture says it all. The room was very clean and Anna very friendly. She helped us find our way around cambridge and made a very nice breakfast. We would definitely recommend as it is very close to the center and easy to park. Also we had a good sleep in the comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JzwHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.8 mi away
Silverwood Lodge Guest House
3.3 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rectory Farm
Rectory Farm
#1 of 3 in Coton
579 reviews
3.1 mi away
Anstey Hall
Anstey Hall
#1 of 3 in Trumpington
310 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Crown and Punchbowl
The Crown and Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Horningsea
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at Fifty-One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at Fifty-One

Address: 51 St. Andrews Road, Cambridge CB4 1DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed and Breakfast at Fifty-One 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifty One B&B is temporarily closed whilst the Proprietor is away in New Zealand. Will reopen on the May Day Bank Holiday weekend 2017. Fifty One is a delightful, uniquely furnished townhouse in a quiet residential area run by the owner. It is a brief walk to the City Centre along the River Cam and across Midsummer Common. All guests receive an individual and warm welcome tailor made where possible to their specific requirements. The comfortable rooms have international themes, free Wi-fi access and a delicious breakfast and off-street all-day parking is included. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing