We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'll do.”

Cambridge Corn Exchange
Ranked #49 of 167 things to do in Cambridge
Attraction details
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“It'll do.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visited the Cambridge Corn Exchange on 12 NOV 2012 to see Motörhead, Anthrax, and Diaries of a Hero. An historical building not designed for musical performances, I can understand the complaints of over sound quality. At one point, one concert going came to the soundboard to complain about some sound issues and to see if the technicians could sort it out. The staff seem friendly and helpful enough.

My issue was one of genetics. I'm 5'8". 75% of the people at the show seemed to be six foot or taller. GIANTS! As the floor for general admission is flat, not sloped, it can be difficult to see if you're vertically challenged and not at the front or the venue is crowded.

Otherwise, Cambridge Corn Exchange seems to be a fair enough venue with a few reasonable parking options available in the area. I used Queen Anne's Terrace car park and walked a bit, but the Grand Arcade car park is just behind the venue, but much more crowded.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    70
    44
    21
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small but well done”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

In the center of town. Great little venue for shows of all types. No local parking so do plan to walk into the town center.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank stxpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Alan Davies was funny, venue was fine”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went to see Alan Davies at the Corn Exchange. He was very funny, and the venue was adequate. The seats are comfortable, but a bit tight on room and as the seating is flat on the floor, it can be hard to see properly. The bar prices were extortionate, but that isn't a surprise. The queues for drinks meant it was tough to get served in the interval, although the staff did their best.

It was pretty full, and yet didn't seem to squashed in the atrium, so fine from that perspective. Parking is easy in Lion Yard.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sheepdip2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bar Prices”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Completely outrageous prices for drinks, £ 5.50 for a lager shandy in a plastic glass.
The event was good, but i'm put off returning due to the bar prices

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank smnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going soon...”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We've been regularly over the years and never been disappointed. They have great artistes and we're off again next month to see Squeeze. I'm disabled now and when I phoned we were offered good facilities and help as required. Very reassuring. Now I'm looking forward to it.

Helpful?
Thank GalDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambridge Corn Exchange also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Cambridge Corn Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing