We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy but fine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lovell Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lovell Lodge Hotel
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed here one night for work. I selected it as it was one of the cheapest I could find and I wasn't sure what to expect. The hotel was fine, it was nothing fancy but for the price it did what it said on the tin. The rooms were warm and the bed was comfortable; perfectly ok for a one night business trip. I am a good sleeper but if you sleep light this may not be the best choice as the rooms are not sound proofed very well and I head alarms and snoring when I woke up in the morning! The staff are friendly however and the breakfast was nice so no complaints. I am in Cambridge again for business in a couple of weeks and will be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curious_traveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    30
    19
    28
See reviews for
13
22
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I just boooked it to stay nearby my friends's place. They had a new baby boy and could not host me. I was s pending most of the daytime with them so did not expect much from the hotel but bed and bathroom. Both were bearable but I wouldn't say cozy or lovely. Very basic decoration and furnishing, definitely not the place someone put their heart and soul in. Pretty clean however the tatty decor and materials make it look untidy. Breakfast was quite edible beyond expectations. Can't say anything about the staff, they didn't care and I didn't mind :)

I would not recommend this place to stay both because of the location/neighbourhood (half an hour and more from the center) and because it is absolutey dull.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyNessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed for three nights as it is close to the Business Park. The staff generally ignored you and the reception guy that checked us in really smelt of smoke and didnt even tell me how to find my room. The room is basic, with seventies style wooden panelling. My alarm clock didnt work and a bulb was missing from one of the lamps. The rooms are noisy, you can hear people talking in the next room and doors slamming in the corridor. The bed was like a plank of wood and I had to lay on some of the duvet to make it softer.
Breakfast was mostly ok, but dont order boiled eggs - they served me two hardboiled eggs in their shells. And I had to hunt down my own teacup, milk and butter as they werent on my table. Poor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loopyloobrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

I travelled to the hotel last summer for a weekend in order to visit Cambridge…. Unfortunately, during this period the graduation of colleges was done, so the only available hotel in the area was Lovell Lodge Hotel.

The hotel is located far away from the city centre… Moreover, the hotel doe not have a lobby, the rooms are very small and I paid aprox. 100 pounds for a night,.

So my verdict is that I would recommend it!…..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnie_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed just the one night & chosen due to good price & convenient location. It is in a bit of a time-warp and could do with dragging in the 21st century, but that aside it was fine. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The hotel is a short walk to a good pub which serves very nice food. Breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I got a GOOD DEAL via Hussain the owner and found my ROOM very clean quiet and well-equipped, super soft bedding, pillows and bed, with all mod cons, as was the rest of the ground floor accommodation.

BREAKFAST was amazing and wonderful value.

RECEPTION was helpful and my taxis ordered by them arrived on the dot and were both polite and helpful.

ON SITE PARKING was also an essental to me, and convenient to both town and my route home.

FAMILY have stayed here previously, and will stay again when returning their son to his college.

EXCELLENT value for £!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and slept in a ground floor one. Only 1 point - night 1 was silent, nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKladydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Nice receptionists. Cute little bar. Next door to a weatherspoons- like pub. Rooms need a complete revamp- straight from the 70s plus the bed was like concrete.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richiemoomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.3 mi away
Oakley Lodge
Oakley Lodge
#27 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovell Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovell Lodge Hotel

Property: Lovell Lodge Hotel
Address: 365 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovell Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lovell Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovell Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing