We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lynwood House
Nearby Hotels
$240
$200
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$147
$123
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$238
$198
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Felix(Cambridge)
$134
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$150
$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
$145
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$55
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
136
26
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
26
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjesus greenthe riverbreakfast was deliciousshort walknice shower roomfresh fruitcity centreowners were friendlyfront of the housecoffee machinefull english breakfastsingle roomvisiting cambridgeeach morningstayed here for two nightspoached eggslittle things
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 168 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a delightful place to stay. Nick and Julie are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. We took Nick’s suggestion and visited King’s College Chapel on the Friday evening for Evensong which was wonderful. The bedroom and bathroom were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The location is superb, just a short walk across Jesus Green to the centre of Cambridge. The free parking is a bonus. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of freshly cooked produce on offer and Julie’s honey from her own bees was terrific. All in all we had a great stay and will certainly be booking again next time we visit Cambridge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OswestryLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

We're so glad that you had a great time in Cambridge.Thank you for taking the time to write review.
It was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you another time.
Best wishes,

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very clean, cost and welcoming room. The owners are really friendly and the breakfast selection, quality and portions were great! Just a 10-15 minute walk through a park or along the river into the centre. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lineyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Nick and I really appreciate your great comments. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge.
Many thanks,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Lynwood house is a great place to stay. Nothing special from the outside but inside its great. The owners are quite shy but pleasant and escort you to your rooms. We were in the family suite which is perfect size for four people. Comfy beds, lots of sockets, decent tv.

Tea and coffee facilities with cookies and sweets. A nice touch is bottled water replenished every morning. The bathroom is really nice and the power shower can be turned on and off from the outside which is nice. They also give you little kits like shoe polishing and shower caps.

The breakfast is very nice. Omelettes traditional good cooked breakfast and awesome porridge! The cereals and juices are also nice.

Its a nice 10-15 minute walk into the centre of cambridge and in the booklet you get it suggests restaurants and things to do in and around cambridge.

Overall we had a great stay with no problems. For a comfortable stay in cambridge look no further than lynwood house!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad to hear that you were comfortable in room 7 and that you enjoyed your breakfast.
We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge.
Kind regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Perhaps a Certificate of Excellence has its drawbacks. In this case we were disappointed.
Because we altered our reservation the landlords changed the confirmed room nr. 3 to nr. 4 without notice. Room 4 was cramped and the website photos are too flattering. The owners forgot that guests do bring luggage! My partner and I were continually in each others way. What really annoyed me was that there was no cabinet to hang your clothes, only a few pegs on the wall straight behind the door. In fact we didn’t unpack. No lounge/sitting-area for guests.
The room was clean, as was the bathroom, which is 2 steps down from the room. Good English breakfast. Friendly but aloof owners who run it as a business not as having paying guests in their house and the contacts that go with it.
At GBP 105 the room is overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZAS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We always appreciate feedback as it allows us to see where we can improve.
We’re sorry we didn’t mention the change of rooms when you altered your booking.
It is certainly not our intension for our website to mislead our customers in any way. We have taken our own photographs; these have not been altered or taken with any special lenses. We don’t advertise that we have a lounge. We have refreshments and comfy chairs in our bedrooms.
We are always looking for new ideas and recently attended The Independent Hotel exhibition at Olympia, where we found a furniture company that should be able provide bespoke wardrobes to replace the hanging pegs we have at the moment.
We are always happy to chat and provide our guests with any local knowledge and things to do. We would have loved to talk to you about the problems you said you had with room 4. Nick and I can only apologise that you didn’t get that impression.
Regards,
Julie
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break away in Cambridge, staying at Lynwood House. Did a bit of research before booking, which paid off, as the Lynwood ticked all the boxes. We stayed in room 4 which is at the back of the property and is a twin room, it was very tastefully decorated with a lovely shower room ensuite, and complimentary toiletries. The B & B itself is only a short walk away from the city centre. Breakfast is excellent, all cooked to order, and offers everything from the full English to Haddock and Poached Eggs,
Nothing seemed too much trouble for the couple who own it, I sprained my ankle quite badly prior to our visit, and they even offered the use of a wheel chair if I needed it. I would not hesitate to recommend this B & B to anyone who is thinking of staying in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

We're glad you managed to enjoy your visit to Cambridge even with your sprained ankle. (which we hope is now better). Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and for recommending us to others.
Best wishes,
Julie and Nick
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews