We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Lynwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lynwood House
Ranked #12 of 124 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very clean, cost and welcoming room. The owners are really friendly and the breakfast selection, quality and portions were great! Just a 10-15 minute walk through a park or along the river into the centre. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lineyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Nick and I really appreciate your great comments. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge.
Many thanks,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 160 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Lynwood house is a great place to stay. Nothing special from the outside but inside its great. The owners are quite shy but pleasant and escort you to your rooms. We were in the family suite which is perfect size for four people. Comfy beds, lots of sockets, decent tv.

Tea and coffee facilities with cookies and sweets. A nice touch is bottled water replenished every morning. The bathroom is really nice and the power shower can be turned on and off from the outside which is nice. They also give you little kits like shoe polishing and shower caps.

The breakfast is very nice. Omelettes traditional good cooked breakfast and awesome porridge! The cereals and juices are also nice.

Its a nice 10-15 minute walk into the centre of cambridge and in the booklet you get it suggests restaurants and things to do in and around cambridge.

Overall we had a great stay with no problems. For a comfortable stay in cambridge look no further than lynwood house!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad to hear that you were comfortable in room 7 and that you enjoyed your breakfast.
We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge.
Kind regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Perhaps a Certificate of Excellence has its drawbacks. In this case we were disappointed.
Because we altered our reservation the landlords changed the confirmed room nr. 3 to nr. 4 without notice. Room 4 was cramped and the website photos are too flattering. The owners forgot that guests do bring luggage! My partner and I were continually in each others way. What really annoyed me was that there was no cabinet to hang your clothes, only a few pegs on the wall straight behind the door. In fact we didn’t unpack. No lounge/sitting-area for guests.
The room was clean, as was the bathroom, which is 2 steps down from the room. Good English breakfast. Friendly but aloof owners who run it as a business not as having paying guests in their house and the contacts that go with it.
At GBP 105 the room is overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZAS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We always appreciate feedback as it allows us to see where we can improve.
We’re sorry we didn’t mention the change of rooms when you altered your booking.
It is certainly not our intension for our website to mislead our customers in any way. We have taken our own photographs; these have not been altered or taken with any special lenses. We don’t advertise that we have a lounge. We have refreshments and comfy chairs in our bedrooms.
We are always looking for new ideas and recently attended The Independent Hotel exhibition at Olympia, where we found a furniture company that should be able provide bespoke wardrobes to replace the hanging pegs we have at the moment.
We are always happy to chat and provide our guests with any local knowledge and things to do. We would have loved to talk to you about the problems you said you had with room 4. Nick and I can only apologise that you didn’t get that impression.
Regards,
Julie
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break away in Cambridge, staying at Lynwood House. Did a bit of research before booking, which paid off, as the Lynwood ticked all the boxes. We stayed in room 4 which is at the back of the property and is a twin room, it was very tastefully decorated with a lovely shower room ensuite, and complimentary toiletries. The B & B itself is only a short walk away from the city centre. Breakfast is excellent, all cooked to order, and offers everything from the full English to Haddock and Poached Eggs,
Nothing seemed too much trouble for the couple who own it, I sprained my ankle quite badly prior to our visit, and they even offered the use of a wheel chair if I needed it. I would not hesitate to recommend this B & B to anyone who is thinking of staying in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

We're glad you managed to enjoy your visit to Cambridge even with your sprained ankle. (which we hope is now better). Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and for recommending us to others.
Best wishes,
Julie and Nick
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in Lynwood House for a small break in Cambridge. It was a great discovery because of it's location, cleanliness and welcoming service. We couldn't really have asked for more from a bed and breakfast. It was within easy walking distance from the town which allowed us to see all the sites in Cambridge during the day, then return to the B&B in the evening to prepare to head out again for dinner without a problem.
The bedroom was extremely well presented and the sheets and towels were pristine and luxurious. The owners go the extra mile and pay attention to detail, which really makes a difference. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room, as well as complimentary bottles of water and biscuits. There are also good quality bathroom supplies in case you forgot your shower gel, or are in need of an emergency sewing kit!
There was a good range of food on offer for breakfast and it was well cooked. The owners were also very friendly and we felt well looked after.
We would highly recommend this accommodation and would certainly return to it!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjf8723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge.
Regards,
Julie
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were very impressed with Lynwood House. Our room (No 3) was spacious and stylish, with a luxurious ensuite - excellent shower, very nice toiletries, and very fluffy towels. Breakfast was wonderful - a wide range of different things to choose from. We found it very convenient for the centre of Cambridge - about a 10 minute walk, via Jesus Green. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards,
Nick and Julie
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Lynwood House having chosen to visit Cambridge for the 1st time as part of a 2week "holiday at home" (being unable to go away on holiday because of caring for elderly parents). The location is ideal as it`s only a couple of minutes walk to Jesus Green which then takes you on a pleasant 10-15 minute walk by the river into Cambridge and shops, pubs, restaurants and all the sights. There are only a few parking spaces at the front of the property and fortunately we were able to park there. Nick and Julie are welcoming and friendly and have made Lynwood House into a stylish but comfortable B&B. We were in Room 1, which is at the front of the house on the ground floor next to the front door, and although there is a bit of traffic noise we didn`t find this a problem. The room is beautifully decorated and furnished and very clean. The shower room is very modern and although quite compact it`s more than adequate for a short stay, and the power shower is superb! Toiletries are provided as are tea/coffee making facilities and bottled water. The breakfast room is light and airy and again attractively furnished and the breakfasts really are fantastic - good quality fresh produce, well cooked , and very good coffee. We particularly enjoyed the smoked haddock with poached eggs! We loved the Botanic Gardens and also walking along The Backs and going into some of the Colleges. You do have to pay (varying from £1 to £7.50) but it gives you a real flavour of Cambridge and King`s College Chapel is simply stunning! There are plenty of places to eat in Cambridge, we ate at the Curry King where the food was very good but we didn`t like the atmosphere at all, and then at a Tapas restaurant which was really good. We had a wonderful stay in Cambridge, there is so much to see and do that we want to return and if we do we will most certainly book Lynwood House again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabellacottonsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Nick and I are glad to hear you enjoyed your well earned break with us. You made the most of the sights of Cambridge.
We will also pass your comments on to our invaluable cleaner Marcellena.
Many thanks, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Nick and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#2 of 124 in Cambridge
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 124 in Cambridge
174 reviews
3 mi away
The Crown and Punchbowl
The Crown and Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Horningsea
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Leverton House
Leverton House
#17 of 124 in Cambridge
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood House

Address: 217 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $126 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lynwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood house is a beautifully renovated Victorian House situated just north of the river Cam, a short walk to the centre of Cambridge. Our seven spacious rooms have been lovingly refurbished. Luxurious bathrooms with power showers and underfloor heating. Our award winning breakfast is a real treat, with a selection of cereals, homemade granola, fresh fruit, fruit juice and yogurts just to get you ready for our traditional full English with homemade oat crusted potato cake, or choose an omelette with a wide choice of fillings, or haddock and poached eggs or scrambled eggs, our organic breads are baked within 1 mile and delivered straight from the oven to our door. We also have Lynwood house honey from our own bees at the bottom of our garden. We provide modern facilities, free view televisions, media stations, wireless internet access. Hospitality trays with nespresso machine and free parking. No credit card surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lynwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing