We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cramped and overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lynwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lynwood House
Ranked #16 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cramped and overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Perhaps a Certificate of Excellence has its drawbacks. In this case we were disappointed.
Because we altered our reservation the landlords changed the confirmed room nr. 3 to nr. 4 without notice. Room 4 was cramped and the website photos are too flattering. The owners forgot that guests do bring luggage! My partner and I were continually in each others way. What really annoyed me was that there was no cabinet to hang your clothes, only a few pegs on the wall straight behind the door. In fact we didn’t unpack. No lounge/sitting-area for guests.
The room was clean, as was the bathroom, which is 2 steps down from the room. Good English breakfast. Friendly but aloof owners who run it as a business not as having paying guests in their house and the contacts that go with it.
At GBP 105 the room is overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We always appreciate feedback as it allows us to see where we can improve.
We’re sorry we didn’t mention the change of rooms when you altered your booking.
It is certainly not our intension for our website to mislead our customers in any way. We have taken our own photographs; these have not been altered or taken with any special lenses. We don’t advertise that we have a lounge. We have refreshments and comfy chairs in our bedrooms.
We are always looking for new ideas and recently attended The Independent Hotel exhibition at Olympia, where we found a furniture company that should be able provide bespoke wardrobes to replace the hanging pegs we have at the moment.
We are always happy to chat and provide our guests with any local knowledge and things to do. We would have loved to talk to you about the problems you said you had with room 4. Nick and I can only apologise that you didn’t get that impression.
Regards,
Julie
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
61
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break away in Cambridge, staying at Lynwood House. Did a bit of research before booking, which paid off, as the Lynwood ticked all the boxes. We stayed in room 4 which is at the back of the property and is a twin room, it was very tastefully decorated with a lovely shower room ensuite, and complimentary toiletries. The B & B itself is only a short walk away from the city centre. Breakfast is excellent, all cooked to order, and offers everything from the full English to Haddock and Poached Eggs,
Nothing seemed too much trouble for the couple who own it, I sprained my ankle quite badly prior to our visit, and they even offered the use of a wheel chair if I needed it. I would not hesitate to recommend this B & B to anyone who is thinking of staying in Cambridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We're glad you managed to enjoy your visit to Cambridge even with your sprained ankle. (which we hope is now better). Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and for recommending us to others.
Best wishes,
Julie and Nick
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in Lynwood House for a small break in Cambridge. It was a great discovery because of it's location, cleanliness and welcoming service. We couldn't really have asked for more from a bed and breakfast. It was within easy walking distance from the town which allowed us to see all the sites in Cambridge during the day, then return to the B&B in the evening to prepare to head out again for dinner without a problem.
The bedroom was extremely well presented and the sheets and towels were pristine and luxurious. The owners go the extra mile and pay attention to detail, which really makes a difference. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room, as well as complimentary bottles of water and biscuits. There are also good quality bathroom supplies in case you forgot your shower gel, or are in need of an emergency sewing kit!
There was a good range of food on offer for breakfast and it was well cooked. The owners were also very friendly and we felt well looked after.
We would highly recommend this accommodation and would certainly return to it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjf8723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge.
Regards,
Julie
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were very impressed with Lynwood House. Our room (No 3) was spacious and stylish, with a luxurious ensuite - excellent shower, very nice toiletries, and very fluffy towels. Breakfast was wonderful - a wide range of different things to choose from. We found it very convenient for the centre of Cambridge - about a 10 minute walk, via Jesus Green. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards,
Nick and Julie
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Lynwood House having chosen to visit Cambridge for the 1st time as part of a 2week "holiday at home" (being unable to go away on holiday because of caring for elderly parents). The location is ideal as it`s only a couple of minutes walk to Jesus Green which then takes you on a pleasant 10-15 minute walk by the river into Cambridge and shops, pubs, restaurants and all the sights. There are only a few parking spaces at the front of the property and fortunately we were able to park there. Nick and Julie are welcoming and friendly and have made Lynwood House into a stylish but comfortable B&B. We were in Room 1, which is at the front of the house on the ground floor next to the front door, and although there is a bit of traffic noise we didn`t find this a problem. The room is beautifully decorated and furnished and very clean. The shower room is very modern and although quite compact it`s more than adequate for a short stay, and the power shower is superb! Toiletries are provided as are tea/coffee making facilities and bottled water. The breakfast room is light and airy and again attractively furnished and the breakfasts really are fantastic - good quality fresh produce, well cooked , and very good coffee. We particularly enjoyed the smoked haddock with poached eggs! We loved the Botanic Gardens and also walking along The Backs and going into some of the Colleges. You do have to pay (varying from £1 to £7.50) but it gives you a real flavour of Cambridge and King`s College Chapel is simply stunning! There are plenty of places to eat in Cambridge, we ate at the Curry King where the food was very good but we didn`t like the atmosphere at all, and then at a Tapas restaurant which was really good. We had a wonderful stay in Cambridge, there is so much to see and do that we want to return and if we do we will most certainly book Lynwood House again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabellacottonsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Nick and I are glad to hear you enjoyed your well earned break with us. You made the most of the sights of Cambridge.
We will also pass your comments on to our invaluable cleaner Marcellena.
Many thanks, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Nick and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights and were very impressed with the quality of the accommodation, the great breakfasts and the homely service offered by Julie & Nick.
Just 300 yards or so from the River Cam and only half a mile or so from the city centre, it's a fabulous position from which to explore Cambridge and the surrounding area and perfectly located if you are fortunate enough to be having a meal at Daniel Clifford's Midsummer House restaurant.
We had a great twin room with a very well appointed bedroom area and lovely bathroom.
The breakfast offered were fantastic; lovely fresh fruit and home made granola, great fresh coffee and a beautifully cooked English breakfast and smoked haddock, made with great organic ingredients.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property are preferable, to reduce any risk of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate the time taken to share your experience, we're glad to hear you enjoyed our hearty breakfast. We hope to see you again if you return to Cambridge.
Best wishes,
Julie
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Lynwood House is perfectly located for seeing Cambridge on foot. Very pretty house and bedrooms and friendly welcome.

Stayed with disabled sister-in-law and she was able to get around happily from this base.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryHorse007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for they kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Nick and Julie
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
1.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.4 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood House

Property: Lynwood House
Address: 217 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lynwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood house is a beautifully renovated Victorian House situated just north of the river Cam, a short walk to the centre of Cambridge. Our seven spacious rooms have been lovingly refurbished. Luxurious bathrooms with power showers and underfloor heating. Our award winning breakfast is a real treat, with a selection of cereals, homemade granola, fresh fruit, fruit juice and yogurts just to get you ready for our traditional full English with homemade oat crusted potato cake, or choose an omelette with a wide choice of fillings, or haddock and poached eggs or scrambled eggs, our organic breads are baked within 1 mile and delivered straight from the oven to our door. We also have Lynwood house honey from our own bees at the bottom of our garden. We provide modern facilities, free view televisions, media stations, wireless internet access. Hospitality trays with nespresso machine and free parking. No credit card surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lynwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing