We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Lynwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lynwood House
Ranked #13 of 123 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very high quality B&B. Comfortable bed, excellent shower, unbeatable breakfast, friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Some road noise from rooms at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderer827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts on our bed and breakfast.
Nick and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 158 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed at Lynwood House for two nights whilst in Cambridge attending a gig and revisiting the city after a six year absence. Stayed in Room 5 which is a double on the first floor facing the street. Can honestly say the room was excellent - I've stayed in smaller four star hotel rooms ! Nice toiletries and superb power shower. Breakfast was also faultless - nice range of choice ! Very interesting artwork throughout the house but be sure to check out the painting of the men skipping in the breakfast room.
The owners are a very nice couple who provide excellent service with no fuss whatsoever and the next time I return to Cambridge this will be my first choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stylegnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Nick and I really appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you at Lynwood House again in the future.

Nick and Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed at Lynwood House in late January for a total of 5 nights and my experience was fantastic. I was visiting a friend who was studying in Cambridge and found that Lynwood House was only a short distance from everything I needed including a convenience store and only a short walk to the main college and attraction area. The room was very comfortable and was always warm (especially seeing as it was below 0 in January). The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were modern. The range of breakfast foods was also a delight and the quality of the food was fantastic! Nick & Julie were also very friendly and recommended places for me to visit. I plan to visit Cambridge again soon and intend to stay at Lynwood House again!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter as the kitchen is on the bottom floor and Nick & Julie get up early t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chica_latina75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for your great feedback, this is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you to Lynwood house again in the future.
Best wishes
Nick and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at Lynwood House while visiting my son who lives in Cambridge. Lynwood House is a comfortable and pleasant B&B in walking distance to the university centre of Cambridge which is an advantage because parking is tricky. I had three very good nights' sleep in a comfortable bed and, apart from a stain on the carpet, the room was clean, bright and quiet, being away from the road. Nick and Julie have not spared on comfort in the rooms, supplying not only a tea and coffee station with hot chocolate and Horlicks, but also biscuits and bottled water which is replaced each day. The newly renovated clean bathrooms are well supplied with soaps, cream, and other items not usually available at a B&B and the shower/bath tap system is latest technology and easy to use. There is a lovely breakfast room with fresh fruit and berries, yogurt, cereals and a cooked breakfast and fresh honey from the bees that Julia has in the garden.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back of the house away from the traffic noise of a busy street, although later at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vmj306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return to visit your son another time.

Kind regards,
Julie and Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

An awesome place - hotel quality with a personal touch. Brilliant room. Great breakfast and awesome hosts. Will defo be back here...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaVita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

We appreciate you kind comments. Thank you your feedback.
Kind regards,
Nick and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My friend and I spent a very comfortable weekend in Lynwood House. We stayed in Room 4. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom had an excellent shower. The breakfast was fantastic and there was plenty of choice. Lynwood House is conveniently located - a 15 minute pleasant walk across Jesus Green into the centre of Cambridge or alternatively a short bus ride away., The hosts, Nick and Julie were friendly and helpful. The B & B is good value for money and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilyn041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thank you for your possitive comments, we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes
Julie and Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

we were originally staying for two days, but ended up staying for five,we stayed in room 1, even though being disabled,having walking difficulties,I found the room comfortable and had no difficulty showering, everything is to highest standards,even an alarm clock so you don't miss the all day breakfast ( it does last you all day ). We found Nick and Julie very friendly, and very knowledgeable about local history, shops, even parking for the disabled, would definitely recommend Lynwood House and also a visit to Ely Cathedral

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We also found it interesting to hear the information you had traced about your family who once lived in the area.
We hope to see you again if you return.
Nick and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,426 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,841 reviews
1.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood House

Address: 217 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $162 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lynwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood house is a beautifully renovated Victorian House situated just north of the river Cam, a short walk to the centre of Cambridge. Our seven spacious rooms have been lovingly refurbished. Luxurious bathrooms with power showers and underfloor heating. Our award winning breakfast is a real treat, with a selection of cereals, homemade granola, fresh fruit, fruit juice and yogurts just to get you ready for our traditional full English with homemade oat crusted potato cake, or choose an omelette with a wide choice of fillings, or haddock and poached eggs or scrambled eggs, our organic breads are baked within 1 mile and delivered straight from the oven to our door. We also have Lynwood house honey from our own bees at the bottom of our garden. We provide modern facilities, free view televisions, media stations, wireless internet access. Hospitality trays with nespresso machine and free parking. No credit card surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lynwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing