We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Chinese restaurant in Cambridge!”
Review of Yim Wah Express

Yim Wah Express
Ranked #96 of 691 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A reputable family-run business serving authentic Chinese cuisine and provide friendly service.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“My favourite Chinese restaurant in Cambridge!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Been here many times; they serve a good range of Dim Sum, BBQ pork/crispy belly pork/duck on boiled rice, etc. The food comes fast; the staff are attentive, although they might not smile a lot. They open from 11.30am, so it is also a good place for lunch (not only for dinner).

I strongly recommend ordering the Thai-style fried rice which comes in a big bucket. Does not taste authentically Thai of course, but very delicious nonetheless. The seafood there is pretty fresh - the salt/pepper scallops are delicious and so are king prawn in garlic and chilli sauce. The aromatic crispy dunk with pancakes are of good standard - may not be as nice as Chinese restaurants at Soho in London, but would certainly not leave you disappointed.

I also love the fact that they serve home-made soya milk, which is perfect for someone who's lactose intolerant like me. The price is on the higher end of Chinese food, but I often treat myself to Yim Wah once in a while.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crimsondip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    81
    27
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great selection in the menu and the food is simply beautiful. The portion sizes are nice and nicely located on your way to the town centre from the railway station. reminds me of China town in London as they have a show cooking area! Would go again the next time in Cambridge!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vipshehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, service is shocking”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I love the food here, really different to other Chinese restaurants, they are catering for themselves and not just to please us Brits, so you get to taste the real china. Whilst the food is great, the service and atmosphere is not, I don't expect to have my table being cleared whilst people are still eating and don't like to be rushed through dinner in order to turn the table over or close early, a little back ground music would be nice also, but maybe this is all part of the culture and I'm wrong , and if so .... I apologise keep up the good work

Helpful?
2 Thank Diningsparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently authentic Hong Kong food”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We have been having weekend lunches at Yim Wah about once a month for the last 3 years or so. The service is fast and friendly, and the food among the best of Chinese restaurants in the UK. My wife and mother in law (Taiwanese) both love this place for an authentic taste of Asian food. Personally, I'd rate this place as being on a par with the best 4 or 5 Chinese places in London, admittedly without any of the fancy decor and higher prices. Always busy with young Chinese people in Cambridge.

Helpful?
Thank MadDoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Came here for an early dinner on a Tuesday night. Although it was quiet on this occasion, I have seen it very busy many times, which was my reason for giving it a try. There is a great dumpling selection and they are delicious. The menu is very extensive and has the old favourites and some more daring dishes for the more adventurous. Dumplings to share, 2 main courses, 1 rice (plenty for two!) and a soft drink each for under £30. I will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyL1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yim Wah Express also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Yim Wah Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing