We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Quinns Pub

The Quinns Pub
Ranked #545 of 684 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Seating
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nice little pub in the centre of Cambridge, direct access to Grand Arcade shopping centre. Drinks not too expensive and nice atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    4
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Won't be going back to eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were staying in the Crowne Plaza and thought we'd have Sunday lunch in the hotel but the restaurant wasn't open and we were told that lunch was served The Quinns Pub downstairs so we booked a table for 12.15 pm.
The pub was completely empty when we arrived and we couldn't find anyone at all - in fact we thought maybe it wasn't open after all! Eventually someone appeared and we said we had booked a table and he told us to sit anywhere.
There were tables laid downstairs for eating and upstairs there were just small round tables with stools plus a pool table so that was better suited to just drinking.
It was very cold in the pub as every time the door opened it let the cold air in - but when we mentioned this to the barman he said it would take a while for it to warm up if he turned the heating up so it probably wasn't worth the bother! He wasn't unfriendly - just didn't realise that the comfort of the customer was important!
We ordered the Sunday Roast (beef) and asked for some horseradish sauce but he didn't know what that was and ended up bringing us extra gravy instead!
The food was OK but not worth returning for - and we didn't stay for dessert - we went to the bar in the Crowne Plaza instead - and wished we'd known that we could have eaten lunch up there to begin with!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank asdas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A reasonably priced City Centre Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Good food and Beer in a pleasant Atmosphere close to the museums made this a great end to full days sightseeing . Prices very reasonable for such a convenient location

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not a true Irish pub”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed in the crown plaza hotel which is connected to quinns pub. We went in for a look one late afternoon. The first thing that strikes you is its not very Irish- no theme inside the pub. The woodwork and glass have a nice homely feel to it and it has the potential to be a lovely little pub, but you get the feeling they're not making the best of this pub. Unfortunately we didn't try the food here so I can't comment- although u had a look at the menu and it seemed varied and interesting. We came back in later on a different night and there was a karaoke night going on- a very young crowd, but it was good for a laugh. I think there are much better spots in Cambridge for a night out.

Helpful?
3 Thank LizR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful - If you want to be threatened & harrased by the DJ then this is the place to go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Visited on a Saturday night. We where having a good time, the drinks where good and bar staff friendly. All this changed when a power tripped DJ (going by the name AJ) decided he did not like 2 members of our party dancing merrily and took it apon himself to threaten and harass us before forcefully removing me and others from the bar. Door staff then stepped in removed drinks from our hands and pushed the remaing group out, with no justification or discussion at all. WOULD NOT GO BACK EVER!

This is not what we where expecting from a family and friends group of 30-late 50 year olds that where enjoying a rare night out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quinns Pub also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Stow Cum Quy, Cambridge
 

Been to The Quinns Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing