We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, good price”
Review of Japas Sushi

Japas Sushi
Ranked #418 of 700 Restaurants in Cambridge
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food, good price”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Small restaurant close to the Cambridge Botanic Garden, it is a good option if you want average food for a good price. The environment is not bad, with some Japanese decoration. The only problem was service, there is a moody waitress that will improve the service quality just by smiling!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    17
    11
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Appalling service, grim food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Simply don't bother going here.

The moody waitress won't smile and when I raised this with the manager he told me that the waitress wound him up too but that the owner of the restaurant wouldn't fire the waitress! When i explained that I wasn't going to pay the discretionary tip the manager didn't appear remotely surprised.

They don't have any infant chairs and don't pretend to welcome children.

The only saving grace was that the service was quick.

The cantonese music playing over the loud speaker is a perfect example of how this restaurant doesn't even pretend to be a genuine japanese.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ianian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Ooh no Mrs, its the ninja chef!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

On a quiet Wednesday evening restaurant not busy and the helpful staff found me a table straight away and I was left with with menus and a betting slip. Turns out the slip is for my food order not for the 7.45 at Newmarket. Anyway I ordered the whilst waiting I noticed Chinese being spoken by staff along with piped Chinese pop music (in a Japanese Sushi restaurant??)

Salad was a delicious, hearty,fresh excellent favour from the mirin dressing. Next up yakitori, what appeared to be boned chicken wings these were homemade and equally delicious crispy skin, beautifully cooked with stick sweet yakitori sauce, really good.

Then the katsu don, oh boy what a let down. A bowl of sticky rice, fried onions, breaded pork steak, an over cooked egg with a bit of ginger thrown on top in a cant be bothered garnish sort of way. It was not horrible, just a mightly shove down the stairs after the two preceeding dishes. Over cooked egg, yuk, pork ok, rice ok, key ingredient of flavour sadly missing. Perhaps it may be my western palate but this dish did not work and was an example of lazy cooking, not good.

Shame as other two dishes were very good and service although speedy was attentive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biriyaniboy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Didn't get what I paid for...”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Sushi was OK although the portions of fish were on the stingy side. Service was very poor. Had to wait quite a while for everything and it took a lot of effort to get any attention from the servers.

Finally the prices...It is not cheap! Don't get me wrong it wasn't too extravagant but for the quality of food and service you get it was definitely not worth it. Bill for 2 people came to over £60... quite a bit considering we really didn't order that much. Don't think we'll be going back.

For the best sushi in town you should try U-Sushi on Burleigh Street which is unfortunately not represented on TripAdvisor yet (originally logged in to review them). Sushi buffet for £15 pp, freshly made and brought to the table for you (no conveyor belt). We've been there twice and the sushi is great, plus you can order as much as you want! We don't go anywhere else for sushi now. Its hands down the best in Cambridge.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I just got back from lunch in Japas, it's the forth or fifth time we go there and, I have to say, we have always been satisfied, but this was definitely our best visit. Food was excellent, served quickly, the salmon and tuna in the sushi was fresh and delicious, everything was cooked perfectly and the service was spot on without being too intrusive. If you like aubergine try the Nasu Dengkaku (grilled aubergine in sweetened miso sauce), that alone is worth the trip. Highly recommend, impressive value for money and so far best sushi in Cambridge.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japas Sushi also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Japas Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing