We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, clean and pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cambridge Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cambridge Guest House
Ranked #13 of 129 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean and pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my Stayed at this guest house for one night as we had to he somewhere early in he morning. We were greeted by the owner who showed us to our room. It was the family room although we only needed a double bit he was prepared to make up the other bed. The breakfast was hot and lovely and lots of it. The only thing I would say was the bed was very hard but would stay again and recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie9440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
24
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Some people seem to expect the same standards from a guest house as from a 4 star hotel. The 4 stars are rated by the tourist board for fulfilling certain criteria. We had a real job to find accommodation in Cambridge at short notice and ended up at this guest house, found through the tourist Board list. We were very happy with the cleanliness, the breakfast and service from the owner. It is a little old fashioned in the decor and we had blankets instead of a duvet. We had no problems with noise from either traffic or dogs (only from 2 inconsiderate other guests). The breakfast was a standard "full English" with cereal,toast, juice and tea or coffee. Why would you need a menu? The room was very reasonable at £65 and we had no problem with parking or storing our bikes. I would visit this guest house again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank layerliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, everything was... really quite average really, food, accomodation, atmosphere, the welcome.... as was the prices... it was just ok, nothing more, nothing less, the stay there never left an impression on me so I guess I will not go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rochesterrogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

all i would like to say about this place is i fail to see how it got 4 stars,room was not up to 4 star standard,shower was dirty,toilet bowl was dirty......breakfast there was cereal and cooked,no menue,so you did not really know what you was getting.in my view,it was run really unprofessional,from the moment you say your name,and the guy says he has to check,thats when alarm bells should have rung.....carpark not ample,if all rooms were full,and all had cars , there would have been a proplem, getting in and out.and then you have the dogs barking at every noise during the night
needless to say i'm glad i only stayed,the shortest of time,and will most certainly won't use that place again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank no1sailorsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.1 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 129 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Guest House

Property: The Cambridge Guest House
Address: 201A Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1XG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Cambridge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing