We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Was lucky enough to spend 3 nights here and can highly recommend it. The cleanliness of the bedroom and public areas were first class and I found the breakfast staff friendly and efficient. Used the swimming pool once and water was really warm, which made a nice change. Ate once in the bar area and the food was delivered quickly and presented nicely, and not overley expensive. The breakfasts were superb, if expensive.
The bedroom had everything you needed, although would have liked some hot chocolate sachets but, apparantly if I had requested some they would have been provided.
Parking was plentiful and bus stop to the city about a 5 min. walk away.
Witnessed the reception staff being verbally abused and was impressed by the way they handled this awful guest.
The only thing I would change is the fox hunting pictures in my bedroom as I found them offensive but that's just my personal feelings.
Well done 'Holiday Inn' I usually stay in B and B's but was very impressed with your service and hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your pleasing comments, we have a great team of people here who enjoy serving the guests which i am extremely proud of them for this attribute of Great Service that guests love. I have passed your kind comments to all departments so they can share with their teams. And if you are in the area again please come back and visit us.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Cambridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am giving this four purely for the fact that every single member of staff we can across was friendly, said hello and smiled, from housekeeping to checkout to Kim (extra star) at breakfast. It is a bit of a rambling place but the breakfast was well organised, with, at last (see my last xx reviews of many hotels) decent coffee! The black pudding was also not dried out and they still had fried bread. So many UK hotels have gone over to hash browns. We too had a disabled bedroom, which is not so good for ordinary baths- I am not sure reception have sorted this yet. Otherwise the room was okay but not exceptional. Still, excellent for Cambridge and I will be back, but hopeful of a better room next time.

Room Tip: Check you havent got a disabled one if you dont need it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotquiteRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for your kind comments about the team and especially Kim who has only just recently started with us. I have put her forward to receive a nomination in our star of the month award for October.
We have introduced some new breakfast service and food standards and i am glad to say that getting the coffee right was one of them along with how the food was cooked which is why Holiday Inn Breakfast is always a popular choice with our guests.
I have passed your feedback on to the Front of House manager about the DDA and have asked him to update your profile so you will have a different room, as we would warmly welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a find! I've been three times now and can report it's better than ever. Admittedly not slap bang in the middle of town but it's barely ten minutes in a taxi which costs less than a couple of hours parking.

I find the staff particularly engaging here which is one of the main reasons for staying. There's clearly a passion about hospitality at Holiday Inn which is the cornerstone of their business. Any problem, however insignificant, will be addressed.

The highlight of last weekend's visit was Sunday breakfast which in some hotels can be disappointing. Our daughter joined us for a quite faultless service which included the freshest ingredients prepared to a very high standard.

Holiday Inn's 21-Day Super Saver Rate currently offers accommodation from £78 which is excellent value for Cambridge. I've stayed pretty much everywhere in town over the past couple of years but this place is a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Book an Executive Room for larger workspace and extra comfort
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utterlybutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest

We are pleased that you enjoyed your various stays with us, myself and the team pride ourselves on our passion for guest service and its fantastic when we receive such warm and genuine feedback. We have tried very hard over the last few years to get it right every time as this is what the guest expects, And I can definately say we have got this ticked off.

Once again thanks for the feedback which i am going to share with the teams tomorrow morning, and I look forward to welcoming back to Holiday Inn Cambridge very soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

From the moment of check-in through bar staff and restaurant staff to check out a first class service. Very comfortable room. Although the fee to access the internet was a little on the high side the service provided was very good. Why do some hotels find it OK to provide internet access without charge whilst others charge small or even high amounts?
The menu choices for dinner were very good and the food was of a high standafd. Breakfast buffet which was suppplemented by eggs freshly cooked to order was excellant.
A hotel we will return to

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel , we pride ourselves on delivering a great Holiday genuine service that comes from the people we employ which i guess is why people enjoy coming back to us. Over the last few months we have made some improvements on breakfast standard and service values which are clearly in evidence during your stay.

I will pass your comments onto the Head Office team about the Internet charges as you have raised a valid point between hotels that do or do not charge. And i hope to see you back in the hotel in the near future, and rest assured I will pass your comments to all the teams in the hotel about our First Class Service.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Its just off the A14 and hence is great for getting around the area. Not so great for city centre. Rooms are a bit tired and the resaurant is not very exciting. Service is varied, but can be good. Has a big gym if that's of interest.

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the ground floor, which would be best for those that stairs are an issue. N...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_from_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your response and appreciate your comments. We are easily accessed from the major road network and there are local bus services in and out of the city centre.
We are hopeful of a Bedroom refurbishment in the future, and our Restaurant has been conducting some re training sessions. Our Health and Fitness club, including Gym and large indoor swimming pool, is a great asset for the hotel and free to Residents @ the hotel.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed for one night on business. Good corporate rate approx £100 off walk in rate. Allocated an exec room at no extra cost. Was quite surprised to find that this room had been converted with full disabled facilities. Colleague also found her exec room exactly the same. Have no problem with this but was surprised that it wasn't mentioned at check in. This also meant that the shower was very low as could be used hand held rather than fixed height for a standing person.
Great black out screens. Bed room very quiet with no passing footfall meant a good nights sleep. Room was quite cold and unable to get radiator to work.
Excellent meal in dining room in evening. Staff very attentive. Bar rates high but I suppose that is to be expected, although a glass of villa Maria Sauvignon at £8:56 when you can get a bottle in Tesco for £9:99 was a bit over the top!
Good breakfast. Plenty of choice then quick check out. Only downside was no free wireless anywhere in hotel( have stayed previously and wireless was free in lounge area). Now £5 per hr or £16 for 24 hrs. Come on guys this hotel is full of business folk who need Internet access but at those rates cheaper to get cab to Starbucks and use their free wifi!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review of Holiday Inn Cambridge, I am very pleased you felt comfortable and slept well with our black out screens. I have taken your comments on board regarding the use of accessible bedrooms with my front office team. I am also pleased your dinner in our restaurant and breakfast was of good standard. I appreciate our Bar prices are on the expensive side, and with your reference to Wifi, we are working with the owners to find a more viable price and package option.
I hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Went there for a marketing conference. Great facilities including gym and pool. Room was large and bed was really comfortable, breakfast was ok (need to upgrade their sausages as very tasteless in the full English) - the only gripe was that the room was too hot and we couldn't regulate the temperature as the thermostat wouldn't respond. Any way - would definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavendergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your time in writing a review about Holiday Inn Cambridge, I am very pleased that you found our Health and Fitness club facilties good and you had a comfortable bed. I have passed your comments regarding the tasteless sausages onto our Head chef, and apologise for the heating in your bedroom.
I hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,813 reviews
2.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
433 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $94 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing