We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Northwest UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Business hotel”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed for one night on business. Good corporate rate approx £100 off walk in rate. Allocated an exec room at no extra cost. Was quite surprised to find that this room had been converted with full disabled facilities. Colleague also found her exec room exactly the same. Have no problem with this but was surprised that it wasn't mentioned at check in. This also meant that the shower was very low as could be used hand held rather than fixed height for a standing person.
Great black out screens. Bed room very quiet with no passing footfall meant a good nights sleep. Room was quite cold and unable to get radiator to work.
Excellent meal in dining room in evening. Staff very attentive. Bar rates high but I suppose that is to be expected, although a glass of villa Maria Sauvignon at £8:56 when you can get a bottle in Tesco for £9:99 was a bit over the top!
Good breakfast. Plenty of choice then quick check out. Only downside was no free wireless anywhere in hotel( have stayed previously and wireless was free in lounge area). Now £5 per hr or £16 for 24 hrs. Come on guys this hotel is full of business folk who need Internet access but at those rates cheaper to get cab to Starbucks and use their free wifi!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review of Holiday Inn Cambridge, I am very pleased you felt comfortable and slept well with our black out screens. I have taken your comments on board regarding the use of accessible bedrooms with my front office team. I am also pleased your dinner in our restaurant and breakfast was of good standard. I appreciate our Bar prices are on the expensive side, and with your reference to Wifi, we are working with the owners to find a more viable price and package option.
I hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    425
    225
    72
    24
See reviews for
191
335
38
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Went there for a marketing conference. Great facilities including gym and pool. Room was large and bed was really comfortable, breakfast was ok (need to upgrade their sausages as very tasteless in the full English) - the only gripe was that the room was too hot and we couldn't regulate the temperature as the thermostat wouldn't respond. Any way - would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavendergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your time in writing a review about Holiday Inn Cambridge, I am very pleased that you found our Health and Fitness club facilties good and you had a comfortable bed. I have passed your comments regarding the tasteless sausages onto our Head chef, and apologise for the heating in your bedroom.
I hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for two nights in an executive room, good deal on Holiday inn website. Room well fitted; bright and nice and quiet. Short bus ride on number 8 bus to Cambridge which runs every 20 minutes or approximately £8 in a taxi. All staff very polite, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and the staff in the restaurant were excellent and very efficient.
Woud definately stay hear again. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel. I will be passing these comments onto the Team who will be very pleased that their hard work is appreciated.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
226 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for the first time this week. I have a team of 13 engineers staying here as well because it is about a $22 cab ride to Cambridge and was reasonably priced compared to hotels in the city center.
Their best asset is the gym. It is a commercial gym on the property so it had nice cardio and weight equipment plus a room where they offer several classes each day (unfortunately many of them are at 9:30 am or after which doesn't work so well for business travelers).
The room was very comfortable except I couldn't seem to turn the heat off so I had to open a window. Nice shower - you'll need to request wash (face) clothes if you need them. Breakfast was included in my rate and was your typical English breakfast (baked beans, runny eggs, bacon, sausage, black pudding). I also saw fresh fruit and yogurt on the buffet and an assortment of breads.

Service was good. I needed a highlighter and called the front desk. Within minutes they had delivered one to my room and said I could keep it.

Rooms are spacious. Mine had a small desk, couch, and a chair.
Bed had two choices of pillows - firm or soft.

Nice shower and tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolesau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a very positive review, it is great that you liked our Gym with all its high tech equipment. I am pleased the bedroom was satisfactory with our Pillow menu, I will have our engineer check the heating. Your comments on our service will be much appreciated by the team here, as it is what we strive to achieve.
I hope we can welcome you back to Cambridge in the future
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I rarely stay at holiday inns and I now know why. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere (I don't know how they can advertise it as Cambridge)
Service and rooms were average and the breakfast the normal greasy floating eggs and self service.
They are way overpriced and I think anyone would be mad to pay their advertised rack rate of GBP200 a night

Room Tip: Choose a hotel in Cambridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest
I apologise for the way you feel about the Holiday Inn Cambridge, we do offer Flexible rates which I believe you booked on, and here at the Hotel we pride ourselves in delivering great service.
Our location we believe caters for the best of both worlds, our Leisure Guests have a quieter semi rural location with easy access to the city centre, and our Business guests have easy access to the road network.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Cambridge for two nights while dropping of son at university. This was my second stay in the last year. It is a bog standard hotel situated just a few mins from the main trunk road network and routes into the city of Cambridge – plenty of pubs etc. near bye. Hotel sits nicely in own grounds and feels safe and secure. Has own leisure facilities which we did not get time to use. Public areas including restaurant are very nice and modern – recently renovated I believe. Room was clean and tidy on arrival and great size with two double beds and a full size sofa and coffee table, although furniture in this standard room is badly in need of re-furb as very worn. Staff were friendly and helpful in general although the receptionist did accuse us on the first night as we returned from dinner at a local pub of walking out without paying our bill. This of course was a mistake which she eventually accepted. The way she dealt with the situation was very poor and not very customer friendly. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and of a good standard although they did run out of bacon on day 2 which is a crime for any hotel – how can you have a “full English” without bacon – they blamed the supplier of course. When staying in the Cambridge area again I would use the hotel. Was good value for the £80 B&B rate I paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of your last stay at the Holiday Inn Cambridge, I am pleased that you like the locality of our hotel, and our spacious bedrooms. We are currently working towards a bedroom furniture refurbishment, as style and quality is below our normal standard.
I have spoken with my Front Office manager and I apologise for the outspoken nature from the member of staff and re training has taken place.
In regard to our bacon shortage it should not have happened and a new procedure has been put in place to ensure that this doesn't occur again.
I am pleased that you feel you received value for money.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Checked in for a weeks stay on business and ran straight into problems. I arrived late and waited for the couple in front to check in, the receptionist couldn't even wait for them to leave the check in desk and shouted over them as to what I wanted. I gave my details and that's it. I wasn't offered a paper, told where or what time breakfast was served, etc. then after check in she flung a pen across the desk and walked off. Worst check in process i have ever gone through. When I asked about the priority rewards card I hold I was told not to bother using it.

On the 2nd night I asked to be moved to a more quiter room, and was advised the hotel was fully booked -fair enough. I asked to be moved the next day and was told to return in the morning and it would be sorted. I did this and had to explain it all again, and was told they would try and move me but no guarantee could be made. In the end they did move me but with an adjoining room. Woken up around half 12 with couple getting back late. So much for a quite room.

I also had to phone front desk twice one night to get them to deliver a breakfast card. Everything seemed so much hard work for them. If you're going to be a 4* star hotel at least try and provide a 4* service!

The breakfast and dinner was very good and this is the only reason why this review has got a 2 and not a 1. In future I'll be staying at the premier inn which is better value on all counts (room stay, wifi access, meal costs and staff that actually care about your stay!) and will recommend our iprocurement team change their preferred hotel listing.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fox23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I apologise for the shortfalls in our service delivery to you, we pride ourselves on our Customer satisfaction and aim to live up to our 3 star rating.
If you wish to discuss further with me please contact the hotel with your details.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Cambridge
Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing