We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Holiday Inn - good position and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decent Holiday Inn - good position and nice staff”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed at this hotel last Saturday evening in a twin room with my son.
Paid £75 for the night B&B quoting “teletext” when booking, so not a bad price compared to rack rate.
Hotel location is fairly central on outskirts of Cambridge, close to main roads and 10mins away from Cambridge “Park&Ride” which I recommend (£2.40 per person return for bus & free parking). Hotel has plenty of onsite parking, and easy enough to find – pubs and restaurants within 10-15mins walk.
Public areas of hotel like entrance, reception, bars and restaurant are fine.
Bedroom was a reasonable size with two comfortable large single beds. Normal furniture which was a bit dated though I believe will be more modern in one of the hotels superior rooms – more expensive. Bathroom let the room down as it had dirty & mildew areas around the bath and shower fittings – see pictures.
Breakfast was good – nice selection of both hot and cold items, served by friendly staff although they were very slow to clear tables. We ate ~ 10:00am and some of the hot food by this time could have been hotter, even though service was until 11am.
Did not get a chance to use the leisure facilities but they looked ok.
All in all I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the Cambridge area, as it was generally clean and friendly, with a nice breakfast thrown in.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge. I am pleased it was an enjoyable visit to the area.
Here at the Holiday Inn we pride ourselves on the cleanliness and comfort of our bedrooms. We have a rolling maintenence programme in place throughout the hotel and all bathrooms have since been checked since your feedback.
With regards to breakfast we do all we can to ensure a smooth service, however with it being a self service buffet we can not predict how many people will be dinning at once.
I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to compose your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again when you are in the Cambridge area.

Kind Regards
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    440
    230
    74
    27
See reviews for
199
347
39
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights, staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast.
The fridge was not working, but a call to reception produced an almost instant visit by a technician, who replaced the fridge in minutes. The beds are a bit unforgiving.

Problem finding the hotel if you arrive after dark, as it's set back from the road, and there's no
lighting at the entrance, even the hotel name-board is not illuminated. The entrance roadway only has a few dim lights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvisowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
Unfortunately the signage is rather dimmed, however this was agreed by the local planning officer, due to the local residents nearby and is out of our hands to change.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge should you be visiting the area again.

Kind Regards
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights whilst at a conference. Starters it's a pretty good location although google maps had the wrong postcode listed. Rooms are alright, bit dated and could do with a lick of paint, bed wasn't great and a bit knackered

But hey, the place had a door and roof, it's fine if you are just after a overnighter type hotel and don't plan on sticking around too long..

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feebdack regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
Firstly i would like to apologise for the confusion regarding the postcode, this has now been addressed and changed.
With regards to the rooms we do have a continual programme in place for decorating around all hotel rooms, and public areas. And hope to have a refurbishment soon.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn should you be in the Cambridge area again.

Kind Regard
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I have to stay here lots for work and I have always had a good experience in this hotel. There is always parking, you don't have to pay for it. Reception are helpful, even had a free drink voucher last time on check in. I prefer the Executive rooms as they are slightly nicer although a bit further to walk. However standard rooms here are fine. Last time I went I visited the pool, sauna and steam which were nice.

What I particularly like about this hotel though is there bar food! Quite bizarre but on every occasion so far over the past few years, their food is great, which one does not always come to expect with this chain of hotels. Always fresh, arrives on time. Burgers are phenomenal and the staff are nice. Plus they have a decent selection of wine by the glass too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stays here at the Holiday Inn cambridge.
It is nice for someone to take the time to post positive feedback, as this generally goes unnoticed.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon, when you are next here on business.
Kind Regards
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I struggled to find a hotel withoutnegative reviews but went with this one. The service was good and when my TV would not work they moved without having to ask. The rooms were clean and had what you would need for an overnight stay. We had an executive room and the HD TV was massive. Reasonable value for money. We used room service and this was efficient and well presented, food standard and hot.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable, and the staff were attentive to your room move request.
Your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments, and we look forward to welcoming you back should you ever be in Cambridge again.
Kind Regards
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here for one night on my way home from a business trip. I will certainly use it again. Very nice rooms, nice grounds and a quiet location. The staff were great and room service arrived exactly on time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKA_Wiccan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

A modern Holiday Inn out of the town centre, but clean and quiet. Even on a very cheap two-for-one rate we were happy to receive an upgrade to an Executive Room, which was more nicely furnished than the standard rooms, with an abundance of free chocolate bars and water bottles. Nice pool, a pleasant bar area, it all seems less worn around the edges than our last visit a couple of years back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,782 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Cambridge
Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing