We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamilton Lodge
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was for only one night, and the staff were pleasant and very helpful. They suggested a local pub for our dinner and it did not disappoint. The room was spacious enough for 1 night and the bathroom was well appointed and very clean! I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRHBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    54
    49
    20
    16
See reviews for
16
54
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in august. We hadn't been to Cambridge before and wanted an affordable place to stay with free parking. Our plan was to walk into the city but my husband had broken his achilles tendon a month earlier so we caught a taxi into the nearby city centre.
The room and bed was comfortable enough, it could have done with some re-decoration but nothing majorly wrong. We had an ensuite when we had only booked a double with shared bathroom facilities. The shower was a bit small and a bit erratic, but we didn't complain as we didn't think we would have one anyway! The wifi signal was fine in our room even though we were quite far from the sitting room which housed the router.
The staff all seemed friendly and the breakfast was very good. The breakfast room has obviously been decorated recently to a good standard.

We would use this bed and breakfast again if we were to re-visit Cambridge - it's not a 5 star hotel but that is why you are not paying 5 star prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnieandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The room I stayed in here (top floor attic room) was a bit tired and in need of modernisation. I know you get what you pay for, but it wasn't particularly cheap. The photo's on their website are a bit misleading, and you will not be overlooking the river, but either the car park at the back or the busy main road. I was only here one night though so it wasn't too bad. It was good that there was on site parking at the rear of the hotel and the breakfast room is decorated nicely. The breakfast was the best part of my stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186403Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Staff were friendly, room was nice, breakfast was good and the eating area was nicely laid out. Was nice to have free parking in their carpark and good that we could help ourselves to fresh milk for tea in our room in the morning. It's a basic hotel but you get what you pay for! Only criticism I have is that although we had our own en suite, the shared bathroom for other guests without ensuites was right outside our room and it smelt a bit rotten. Apart from that it was fine, basic but wasn't expecting a 5 star luxury for what I paid!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meleka i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This B&B would be best described as budget, standard accommodation.

The breakfast room was nice, as was the breakfast, but aside from that it was a bit of a let down.

The decor in the room was tired and dated, with damp patches and a dated bathroom. The bathroom had a dirty bath mat and a real awful smell of wee :(

The staff were a little bit frazzled and the young ones inexperienced in customer service.

You can tell they have tried hard but it's not quite right!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank simmymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a pleasant stay in the family room on the ground floor next to the parking.
Our three children slept in the main room and we slept in the bedroom next to it, all for £112 per night incl. tasteful breakfast.
There was a microwave in the main room and a router and we could make coffee and tea. The shower was simpel but clean.
The personnel was extremely helpful, appreciated the free parking and the fridge with milk. It only takes ten minutes to walk to the centre.
Beds slept well. This hotel is for people who don't request extreme luxery.
We are a duth family.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernst H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

When we booked this hotel they were aware we were a hen party ... This doesn't mean that we were all loud n Lary , far from it ! On arrival we booked in and much to the annoyance of the lady on the desk we all wanted to pay separately ( this seemed to much to ask so we did apologise and repeatedly said thank u ) the staff were rude and not very helpful , at one point one of the ladies who worked there just waltzed into our room without knocking to ask of we'd moaned about the beds being uncumfy , that was probably the only thing not to moan about !! Breakfast was awful and don't ask for any condements because that's also to much to ask .... Would never ever recommend and would pay not to have to stay here again ... AWFUL !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalielouise_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.9 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Lodge

Property: Hamilton Lodge
Address: 156 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing