We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice b&b” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterman

The Waterman
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterman
Ranked #50 of 129 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice b&b”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Recently stayed for two nights in a very spacious, clean and comfortable room. Darryl the B and B manager was very helpful. Located next to the Cam river and easy walk into the city centre. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
12
45
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
235 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Located near the universities, the hotel is made above a pub.. The pub is brilliant, but the rooms very small. Not to complaint about it but this is the reality. Very clean and nice staff. The sharred bathroom was ok but it will be better to have one in your room. For one night max 2 it's ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maniac_the_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed a few nights at the waterman. Our room is very nice and clean.
Continental breakfast served at the pub every morning. The owner and staffs are very
friendly and helpful. Location is superb, walking distance to town center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The girl manning the B&B did not open the door for us! We had to walk down the street past several homeless people to a pub so that we could call and get her to open the door. She was really quite rude about it as well. The rooms were clean, but the carpets were stained and dirty ~the the whole place smelled musty and moldy and the entrance of urine and disinfectant.. We had to sit on the bed and eat our cereal, there was no other place to have breakfast. Had we not been so very tired and had such a hard time finding this place (Cambridge is not an easy city to drive in in the dark), we would have just fortified our money and gone elsewhere. On a positive note, the young man that set breakfast out, was very friendly and helpful...the only good thing about our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasBluebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at the Waterman last night. Very friendly staff, very clean and tidy. We had a chinese meal from their tuesday Special Chinese menu, which was amazing, the bar was busy and the food all looked good. However, the pub is in the middle of a major refit, half the pub is closed off with curtains, the smell of gloss paint was overwhelming both in the bar and in our room. The pub is on an extremely busy T-junction and major bus routes, our room was very stuffy as well as full of paint fumes but the traffic noise was so bad it wasnt possible to leave the window open. Our room was quite small but nicely presented, dark though, as only the one small window. There is NO parking, outside there is a 4 car bay, but its 2 hours max between 9 and 5, double yellow lines everywhere else. The breakfast is basic, cereal, toast,yoghurts and fruit, it would be nice to have an hot option, especially in the winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a room last-minute and the staff were very friendly and the rooms decent, especially the price. The location is also good for the price and the pub downstairs is nice. The only let down was the breakfast which only consisted of cereals etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanyewest100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had lunch at the Waterman Inn, nice variety of dishes on the specials board. A typical local pub with very good fresh food at very reasonable prices. Convenient if you are visiting the local football club.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshdilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#15 of 129 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Your Space Apartments The Hamiltons
0.0 mi away
The Portland Arms
The Portland Arms
#47 of 129 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lux Living Apartments
Lux Living Apartments
#8 of 39 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterman

Property: The Waterman
Address: 32 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Waterman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing