We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comprehensive collection of fossils”

Sedgwick Museum of Geology
Ranked #18 of 166 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum houses an extensive collection of geological specimens from around the world, which are used by scholars worldwide as part of their research activities.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comprehensive collection of fossils”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A real treasure trove of fossils from the Permian to the Eocene. I could have spent far more time here than I did (alas we were only in Cambridge for the weekend). Very jealous of Cambridge students to have such a fantastic resource on their doorstep. Only consideration - if you don't have any background in biology or geology this might be less interesting as the museum does assume that you know a little of what you are looking at. But still - it has Archeopterix!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    94
    15
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very interactive”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Good to see the history up close and personal. The dinosaur model is amazing! Good to learn about our history and have the chance to touch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 311469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Absolutely fascinating, and lovely gems for sale in the shop”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Did you know that bison, hippopotamus, elephants roamed Cambrdige ages ago? AS well as loads of fossils and rock samples, there are some amazing things like a model of the biggest spider ever known to walk the Earth, Darwin's diaries, some real mammoth hair, endless delightful things. There are special activities for kids free of charge you can ask for. Some really big skeletons of dinosaurs. Lovely for kids I would say 6y and up. Dinosaurs for sale in the shop as well as innumerable gems. Free entry

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank shoedocmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
212 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Dinosaurs, Rocks and Precious Stones”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is great little museum packed with tons of earth science stuff. Here you can while away a good hour and its free. The gem stone section is very interesting and colourful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jake-from-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots to see.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I took m little boy (3 years old at the time) and he was fascinated by all the fossils and dinosaur bones. I'll definitely take my 6 year old along one day soon.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sedgwick Museum of Geology also viewed

 

Been to Sedgwick Museum of Geology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing