We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting architecturally!”

Our Lady and the English Martyrs (Roman Catholic)
Ranked #37 of 167 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1890, this magnificent neo-Gothic structure features a 214-foot spire, stained-glass windows and murals, and a 16th-century wooden statue of the Virgin Mary.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting architecturally!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

One of the largest Catholic churches in the United Kingdom designed in the Gothic revival style. Very interesting inside and out, as an Architect I could spend ages looking at and analyzing different details or scenes depicted on the stain glass of the windows. The interior is constructed in Bath stone, Plymouth marble and Newbiggin stone which makes it monumental and respectful.
Recommended by mareksekowskiarchitect.com

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São José dos Campos, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was very impressive by this Catholic church, I really liked participating of a mass there. You must see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rodolfo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spectacular a soaring architecural gem”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

A beautiful and spectacular Victorian Church. Inside as you would expect a living community church...peaceful , inspiring ,and worshippers attending to their devotions. Unfortunately we didn't have time to attend Mass on our visit to Cambridge........... next time I hope

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank m4hmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“AN outstanding building with a great interior”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the Main Roman Catholic Church in Cambridge commanding a central position at the junction of Hills Road and Lensfield road. The building is substantial with many interesting carvings on the outside. The interior is very spiritual and relaxing with beautiful stained glass and masonry

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank geoff_grayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oasis in the City”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Beautiful and traditional, the ideal setting for a joyous event such as a wedding and offers opportunity for quiet reflection

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lady and the English Martyrs (Roman Catholic) also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Our Lady and the English Martyrs (Roman Catholic)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing